Happy new parents.

Yes, we watched and waited and in here you will see the rewards.
118.JPG

You just gotta love this, as two babies outside, at our front door popped out of the nest. This is a new Southern Double-collared Sunbird family.

I split the post into two, as the first one came out early this morning, and the other one popped out at noon, so let's have a look at the first one. This is also a very special day, as it is my youngest sister's birth date and may she continue to RIP. You will surely also find the two little female sunbird babies delightful, and the parents had a very busy day.
I had the habit of every morning watching the nest that they built in a Pelargonium bush in our front garden, and it was a long wait. You cannot imagine how happy I was when the first little one came out. At that stage I didn't know that there were two, but I will explain in the second part below.

Phew! She was a bit tired after the flight from the nest to land on a branch in a trellis box.
097.JPG

099.JPG

096.JPG

Mom popped in to feed, but my camera lately has the habit of blurring some shots. Cannot blame it, as it works very hard.
010.JPG

Just look at that pose. Maybe she will become a model one day:))
206.JPG

And here below is the second part, that took place at noon.

My suspicions were aroused when the parents fed the first baby in the small tree in our garden, but they continued to also return to feed something in the Pelargonium bush. So, as soon as the feeding stint was over and the parents departed, I went to have a peep in the bush. And there she was, the second baby.
077.JPG

She landed here on the trellis.
164.JPG

167.JPG

Daddy seemed to sense that the second baby, is a bit smaller than the first one, and so he took care of this one while the mommy fed the other one.
170.JPG

And then daddy started to lecture the smaller one. I liked to see how intently the smaller one listened.
171.JPG

Then daddy pecked a kiss on the smaller one's beak.
172.JPG

We also had some action during the day, as at first the parents went crazy when Robby our Cape Robin-chat popped into the garden, but I managed to send Robby on his way. Then, during the afternoon session, the thrush that scratches in the garden every day for worms, also came in and it was sheer bedlam again as the parents even bombed the thrush, so my wife made a noise for the thrush to take off. Even if I get a bit too close, they zoom around my head like bees. But we respect them, and we leave them alone, and we thank Mother Nature for this fantastic gift.

I hope you have enjoyed the pictures and the story.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon PowershotSX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting this post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center