A new feathered life.

First up is to show a young Cape Robin-chat, eating by itself.
086.jpg

Looked like a yellow jacket wasp volunteered to be the youngster's lunch.

Robins, White-eyes, a Ringneck dove, Starling, Malachite, and even a Drongo, you will see them all in here. Spring season and birds are nesting all around our home here. A pity that their nests are not in our garden, but I have an indication of only where the dove's nest is. Sadly, I cannot get to it, as it's in the neighbor's property next door. Then, apart from the nest builders, I also have some other lovely birds. So, come and see what I have to share today.

The young Robin's mom was watching me to see if I was impressed at how she trained the youngster to feed itself.
147.JPG

Now, this is a little White-eye, and they are small and cute.
159.JPG

161.JPG

The dad was with her, but he rather looked for some insects at the bottom of our palisade fence.
181.JPG

This was a ringneck dove with a tree in in its beak.
249.JPG

She piloted down onto the grapevine cover of our neighbor's garden.
251.JPG

Now for some lovely birds in the area. A European starling below.
167.JPG

Here I have a Malachite sunbird sitting on the leaf of an aloe tree.
129.JPG

And finally, a fork-tailed Drongo, singing its evening song.
021.JPG

Over times past I have included specie names, and some strange characteristics of each of the birds presented here, in several posts. But we are in the process now of sorting and packing fruit, sweets, and biscuits for some children's homes. A creche, and two schools, one for disabled children and the other for previously disadvantaged children, will receive the free gifts from Papillon, and it is all done with love.
An old memory just popped into my mind, and I hope that you will not mind me sharing it with you. Barefoot, in shorts and a T-shirt, I used to sit on the sidewalk of the road in front of our semi-house on the morning after Christmas, to see what presents the other children in our cosmopolitan neighborhood received from their parents. I had nothing, and I stared with a deep longing at their new toy cars. So, I know first hand how it feels to have nothing, and that's why every time now when we gift a poor child, I feel that I am that child, and it makes me happy.
Madness? No, by the helping of others, one helps the self. Selah.

I hope you enjoyed the story and the pictures.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon PowershotSX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting this post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center