A nest of Cobras.

No, not the snakes, but rather a lovely surprise.
011.jpg

My wife came running out of a shopping center and at first, I thought she was robbed, but then she said, come and look what's inside.

As I entered the center, a line of Cobra cars was staring at me.
I don't like to go inside shopping centers, as I seriously like to dodge women racing around with shopping trolleys. And then the queues waiting at the pay points is another dreary issue. This is a very busy shopping center, and all of the more reason for me to stay outside hunting insects with my camera at a small river running past at the side of the center.
But this time it was different, as some of my favorite cars were inside, and I requested permission to take photos from the head of security. He gave me the go-ahead, and all was well.

020.JPG

031.JPG

The light was not good, but the speed gauge shows that this baby has a 320kpm capability. V8 engine of course.
095.JPG

026.JPG

So, should you ever visit Cape Town in South Africa, and want an adrenalin rush, I have included the contact website in here.

Cape Cobra Hire.

Cape Cobra Hire is now in its 12th successful season. It was started by Dean Gillatt with his love for the classic car who moved to Cape Town in 1990 having spent several years working in motor racing with Eddie Jordan and the Jordan Racing Team.

He realised that while Cape Town already offered many exciting pastimes, it lacked one thing - the adrenalin rush of driving a Classic high powered motor car along the winding and scenic roads of the Peninsula at an affordable price. And so Cape Cobra Hire was born with its first gleaming Cobra ready to hire. Several cars later we are continually looking to add to the fleet, but it is imperative that any Cobras we acquire have been made to the same high specification and finish that we always demand.

Source

058.JPG

043.JPG

048.JPG

069.JPG

075.JPG

Finally, there was also a Harley Davidson bike rental show, and you can see some of the bikes in the background below. I will show you the bikes in another post.
077.JPG

I was so happy to see this that I was smiling from ear to ear when we left.
Reason being that in the early 1970s a friend had a cobra similar to the blue one in this post. We went on many joy rides, and one thing that I can say, is that one has to have one's wits about one when piloting a cobra, as they are not easy to drive. I was called up for army service and when I returned after 2 years, sadly the cobra was no more, but I remember the adrenalin rushes, as the car running on full tilt on long straight roads went like a bullet. Cornering though was very nervy affairs.
And so, I will always have a soft spot in my heart for a cobra car.
Maybe we will also save up to rent one for a day.

I hope that you enjoyed the pictures and the story.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon PowershotSX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting this post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center