I'm Not a Wedding Photographer part 2

I recently created a post with this title, and they were the pre-wedding, test shots for the below event.

What I said still stands, I got really nervous on the morning of the shoot, I think largely because they are friends and I wanted to do a good job, I cared, and thats a good thing. I've massively undersold myself on the fee too, largely because I wasn't confident. But I have no regrets, it was a pleasure to shoot and edit and a learning experience too. But my wife, who was a fantastic support was with me, and after a few test shots, getting my settings figured, things started to flow.

I got some good shots too, some beautiful ones, and I'm looking forward to showing the happy couple this weekend. I have them on a Heart shaped USB pen, and I'm waiting on a photobook to be delivered today or tomorrow. But do you know what were my favourite shots? The ones that weren't posed, the ones that weren't staged, the ones taken when people thought I wasn't there, and the ipromptu moments.

So that said, the below shot is my absolute favourite. The bride went axe throwing for her hen do. When it came to the moment to cut the cake, she was looking around for a knife, when the maid of honour stood up and declared "No one give that woman a knife!" and instead gave her a wrapped package which was an engraved axe!

The bride and groom proceeded to cut the cake with the axe, and then the bride turned to me...

230.jpg

And we have the cutting of the cake, again this was genuine and not staged..

227.jpg

Below is the aftermath, and I was asked specifically to shoot the position of the lego groom at the bottom..

232.jpg

233.jpg

After this, well actually before this too, the bride was well lubricated. That might be a UK term, but it means she was a little drunk! This may be why she posed for the below shot as the cake went down..

239.jpg

So suffce to say, Rosa, who is Portuguese is a bundle of fun and joy, does not take herself seriously and makes some amazing faces, as seen below..

59.jpg

87.jpg

175.jpg

176.jpg

Midway through the evening do, we planned to go back out in blue hour. The sky wasn't partiularly blue but some of the shots were (While still faily friendly). Rosa and james had some lovely shots, but both a little drunk and both a little aughty, as shown below when I said to Rosa, just put his head in your cleavage! Which she proceeded to do..

247 bw.jpg

After this we had some fun drunken shots on a bench too..

260.jpg

One final shot, and this was credit to my wife as it was her idea; one staged shot where we asked them to pull a "funny face"

144.jpg

As above, I have some lovely, beautiful shots from the day, but they're for another post. These are the unconventional fun shots that hopefully you wouldn't have seen in previous wedding albums.

To add too, I got some great cute kid shots, one little boy in particular, Rupert..

35.jpg

111.jpg

40.jpg

154.jpg

As a photographer I try to mix what I do in my shots, I've done still life, some macro work, lightpainting and I enjoy a good model shoot. (But I'm still not a wedding photographer lol!) If you'd like to check out any of my other work I'm on Facebook, or you can find me on Instagram under neilru75

Thanks very much for looking

Kind Regards, Neil

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center