We have a darkroom and I don't use it


Cover created in Canva

At the magazine where I work, we have a photo lab. I don't go in there much, it's a few small rooms with their sinks, lights, enlargers, clocks, test tubes, trays, piles of bottles of liquids, weird powders 😁 and stuff like that. I say rare powders and liquids because I didn't really do much analogue photography and although one of my buddies develops some of his images in the darkroom, most of the time we didn't match in the Magazine. I only got to be with him once and I was just watching the process. I had completely forgotten how it was done.

Well, today I was inspired when I had to go to the office and went with a colleague to the darkrooms. Her name is Martha Vecino and she is a great photographer. She has been working at Bohemia for many years. I started in 2008 and she was already a veteran. That's why I like talking to Martha because she knows a lot and has a lot of experience.

We had a great time there. There was a moment when to take the photo from above, the ideal thing was to climb on the countertop of the room, but they were a little high. And she, who is an older woman, told me: "Go, you are young and you can do it". I laughed, because with this sedentary lifestyle I have, it wasn't going to be very easy. But really, when I'm taking pictures, I'm capable of the unbelievable. I put my hands on the countertop of the room and in one leap I was on top of it. She immediately exclaimed, "You see, youth is youth!". More laughter followed.


Martha´s hands.jpg

I think she likes to be by my side when I get to work. Maybe she remembers somehow when was my age, or I don't know. We get along very well and I have had the honour of being mentioned with Martha Vecino in articles about Cuban women photographers. It is really a great honor for me because great photographers have worked in the magazine, including her, of course.

It is something I have pending, to tell you a little of the history of the centenary Bohemia, through its photographers.

I can not fail to mention in this post @sofathana who wants to venture into Lomography and the idea of entering these dark rooms also arose from its publication.

Well, I won't bore you anymore, let's take a walk through one of Bohemia Magazine's darkrooms. I'm going to try to get a chance with my colleague to do some analogue photography together.

Here I've mixed black and white and colour... I saw that I liked some images better in black and white, you know I love it.

Versión en Español - Click Aquí

Tenemos un cuarto oscuro y no lo uso

En la revista donde trabajo tenemos un laboratorio de fotografía. No entro mucho allí, son unas pequeñas habitaciones con sus fregaderos, luces, ampliadoras, relojes, tubos de ensayo, bandejas, montones de botellas de líquidos, polvos raros 😁 y cosas así. Digo polvos y líquidos raros porque realmente no hice mucha fotografía analógica y aunque uno de mis compañeros revela algunas de sus imágenes en el cuarto oscuro, la mayoría de las veces no coincidimos en la Revista. Sólo pude estar con él una vez y me dediqué a ver el proceso. Ya me había olvidado por completo de cómo se hacía.

Pues bien, hoy me sentí inspirada cuando tuve que ir a la oficina y fui con una colega a los cuartos oscuros. Su nombre es Martha Vecino y es una gran fotógrafa. Lleva muchos años trabajando en Bohemia. Yo empecé en 2008 y ella ya era una veterana. Por eso me gusta hablar con Martha, porque sabe mucho y tiene gran experiencia.

Nos lo pasamos muy bien allí. Hubo un momento en que para hacer la foto desde arriba, lo ideal era subirse a la encimera de la habitación, pero éstas están un poco altas. Y ella, que es una mujer mayor, me dijo: "Ve, eres joven y puedes hacerlo". Yo me reí, porque con este sedentarismo que tengo, no iba a ser muy fácil. Pero es que realmente cuando estoy haciendo fotos, soy capaz de lo increíble. Apoyé las manos, y de un salto ya estaba encima de eso. Inmediatamente exclamó: "¡Ya ves, la juventud es la juventud!". Vinieron más risas.

Creo que le gusta estar a mi lado cuando me pongo a trabajar. Quizá recuerde de algún modo cuando tenía mi edad, o no lo sé. Nos llevamos muy bien y he tenido el honor de ser mencionada junto a Martha Vecino en artículos que tratan sobre fotógrafas cubanas. Realmente es un gran honor para mí, porque grandes fotógrafos han trabajado en la revista, incluida ella, por supuesto.

Es algo que tengo pendiente, contarles un poco la historia de la centenaria Bohemia, a través de sus fotógrafos.

No puedo dejar de mencionar en este post a @sofathana que quiere incursionar en la Lomografía y la idea de entrar a estos cuartos oscuros también surgió a partir de su publicación.

Pues, ya no los aburro más, vamos a dar un paseo por uno de los cuartos oscuros de la Revista Bohemia. Voy a intentar ponerme de acuerdo con mi colega para hacer juntos algo de fotografía analógica.

Aquí he mezclado blanco y negro y color... Es que vi que algunas imágenes me gustaban más en blanco y negro, ya sabes que me encanta.

CameraXiaomi 220333QL
LocationHavana, Cuba
EditingXiaomi image editor
Photographer@nanixxx



clq1o69sl04f9eqszfe36bc5x_bn1.webp
clq1o65o3004u2asz7mo20den_c3.webp
clq1o713904f2ctsz63548fja_bn2.webp
clq1o6lmb0489aeszcud8c8mu_c2.webp
clq1o7ih904lnbxsz0gzaeml4_bn3.webp
clq1o7hcm00dqxiszassl6m2n_c4.webp
clq1o7wu804ffeqsz3xoj2gre_bn4.webp
clq1o844q04e88esz6gsq4b2v_c5.webp
clq1o8ekd001lg3sz1uxxd837_bn6.webp
clq1o8lu304f3cdsz4ztof0l6_c6.webp



Original content by @nanixxx. All rights reserved ©, 2023.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center