Look, flamingos!


_1370665.JPG

I've had a strange day today. I decided to go to the Zoo after having a morning of gardening that left me... with a lot of energy. I don't know, yesterday I was dizzy, almost fainting and scared. It seems like things around here must be on a constant up and down.

Okay, I found out that in the 26th Zoo, located at Nuevo Vedado neighbourhood here in Havana, it is forbidden to enter with a bicycle. I was there at about 4 pm and it started to rain, so the keeper let me pass. I am lucky.

There are no flamingos in the Zoo. I was told that they were culled after avian influenza was detected in Cuba in 2023. Oh, terrible. I felt that my plan was not only over-watered, it was disintegrating like wet paper.

...

Did I tell you I was lucky? Well, you're not so lucky because you're not going to see anything from the Zoo here. I wanted flamingos and water mirrors. Mother Nature gave them to me... Another kind of flamingos, of course.


$1

Let me give you some context: when I was close to getting home, on Avenida Boyeros, where the train line passes, there was a flooding. So I got off my bike and took the opportunity to do some... bird watching. 🤣


$1


$1

Yutong, a Chinese species.


$1


$1

This officer looked at me with sympathy. He must have thought I'd do anything for a photo, even get my camera wet. I did the same as him, using the pedestrian pavement, because I wasn't going to go through the flood with my bike.


$1

It started raining again and I felt that I had nothing worthwhile in my camera. Well, I did something at the Zoo. But the city is more complicated, it's the jungle.


$1

A black and white flamingo 🤔, huh, let's see how it looks.


$1

Ok, I'll give you proof that I was at the zoo. I don't like these animals since I had a close encounter with a mother and her offspring at a scout camp.

Turns out they had them tied up where we were going to have dinner and they got loose. When I had them in front of me, pointing to my plate of food, just said: Here, take my food.

And they took it.
And one of them stole my necklace too. 😟


$1

Tomorrow we continue.

I need to take care of some business here, housework, and dinner... luckily there are no monos on the coast. LOL. It just occurred to me. This is an idiom from Spain and it goes like this: ‘No hay moros (moors) en la costa’. It originates from the time of the constant attacks by Muslim pirates or corsairs and means that all is well, with no danger in sight.



Original content by @nanixxx. All rights reserved ©, 2024.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center