Havana, my song in photos for you

Havana, my song in photos - cover.png

A photographer's job of organizing his or her archive is probably the most tedious there is. It takes a lot of time and I think most of it is diluted in choosing which photos to keep and which to discard. Because, my friends, it is a reality that not everything can be kept even if you want to. Sometimes we can deal with a terrible lack of space.

These days I have started to look at some folders where I keep works that need -let's say- a cleaning. It is not easy. It is terrible, I can say.

I thought that as time went by this task would be less cumbersome, but no. It makes me sad to press that delete key, a sadness that also brings pain.

I was on this issue a few hours ago and I came across some work I did in 2018. It turns out that a friend who had a Fototours business contacted me because she had a lot of work piled up and almost couldn't keep up with all the commitments.

_ALC7756.jpg

I found these photos of a girl that I remember was one of the most fun jobs I did helping my friend.

If it takes art to photograph, I think it takes a lot more art to pose. Or I don't know, you tell me. To each his own, right?

But my thoughts don't stop there. Looking through the photos and selecting a few for this post, I thought that the first comment I made earlier today on Hive was about Havana. A traveller was questioning rather sad things that, yes, are certainly experienced in my city, but I also told him that these kinds of things are not exclusive to Havana, because, in every city in the world, there are unscrupulous people willing to take advantage of the ignorance or innocence of foreign visitors.

_ALC7767.jpg

I recommend that before travelling to any place you should be well informed and there are even ways to find people who can guide you so that your experience will not be as disastrous as it was. I felt so sad for him and also for how he was presenting my city, which (I'm not saying that I'm not) is hurting, and needs a lot of love, to be taken care of and not let it drown in neglect.

These are difficult times... well honestly since I have a conscience I don't remember prosperity. However, I feel a great love for my city and for this country. We know that things are not going well, but it hurts us very much that they come to speak ill of our home. I always try to do good and contribute so that things improve, although I am aware that this is the responsibility of all Cubans.

P1210158.jpg

Let's go back to the photos... Havana is magical and I am sure this girl was happy here. I would like to hear from you -if you have the time and inclination- what this work conveys to you.

_ALC7792.jpg

P1210138.jpg

P1210160.jpg

P1210146.jpg

_ALC7814.jpg

P1210129.jpg

P1210128.jpg

_ALC7850.jpg

_ALC7731.jpg

_ALC7800.jpg

_ALC7807.jpg

P1210099.jpg

_ALC7909.jpg

These are just a few photos from that photo session. Maybe one of these days I'll get the feeling and show you a few more.

Since my native language is Spanish, I used www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version). 

The cover was designed in Canva.



Original content (text and photos), by @nanixxx, unless otherwise noted.

My Social Media Icons by Icons8.

All rights reserved ©, 2023.

icons8-aplicación-telegrama-48.png


icons8-twitter-48.png


icons8-instagram-48(1).png


icons8-discord-48.png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center