Wicken Fen Midwinter Photo Walk Recon

img_20211223_231045_999.jpg

Yesterday I went for a #wednesdaywalk around Wicken Fen in Cambridgeshire to check out the location for future photo shoots. These photos are from my now ancient smartphone.

View From The Hide


img_20211222_150405.jpg

It has many hides around the mere (bog) where you can get close to the wildlife without disturbing them.

Unfortunately for me nature wasn't playing along and while I could hear plenty of action in the reed beds. I didn't spot a single bird.

Ancient Bog Wood Trees

img_20211222_150314.jpg

I noticed in the ditch in front of the hide a dead tree stump!

You wouldn't think much about it really until you learn that it is probably 4,200 years old.

This bog wood tree below is it's big brother.

img_20211222_155258.jpg

Photographically this is a target rich environment and I'll post again with the shots I got on my Canon 70D and a 75-300 telephoto lens. Still no birds but some better landscape photos.

Visitor Centre and Cafe

img_20211222_155233.jpg

So it was off to the cafe for a hot coffee and to get warmed up.

I do love nature photography but getting good photos takes time, patience and thermals. Brrr!

Today could be seen by some as a wash out but for me it gave me a chance to scope out the area with virtually no one around.

This is a short video I made on the Canon 75-300mm telephoto zoom lens when I was getting used to using it for nature photography.

PS I figured out the shaky focus issue Jay. Higher time values. 📷😂👍

Thanks to @tattoodjay for this
photo challenge. Check the rules on his blog.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment