HORSE ESCAPES DURING PICTURES / PHOTO STORY



clca0f10n00rqaksz1rhc1oxc_IMG_1761-min.webp
clca0f5oo00q470sz4xqa94b6_IMG_1753-min.webp
clca0fa6n00qv7qszbjcte8r0_IMG_1762-min.webp
clca0fean00psawsz2h7m9490_IMG_1763-min.webp
clca0fhh600n31sszhx2i90j7_IMG_1777-min.webp
clca0fmk000pc7dsz6o038k86_IMG_1784-min.webp
clca0fpne00pw24szevtk3g0y_IMG_1793-min.webp
clca0ftwa00s15ksz1fc566t0_IMG_1810-min.webp
clca0fyng00pcbrsz9j531kez_IMG_1817-min.webp

##### HORSE PHOTOGRAPHY IS A REAL CHALLENGE. WAITING, WAITING AND WAITING...

Yesterday was an extremely dark day in the city of Sofia / Bulgaria, where I live. If you have photographed in the mountains, you know that between the trees the light becomes even deeper. I wanted to make the most of the time by giving the shots a cinematic look. We put a big Christmas wreath on the horses. We made it out of real pine branches with some balls for decoration.

The idea of the session is to congratulate the followers in the Instagram gallery of the horse base where I shoot. I am truly sorry that there was no snow! I thought about putting it on photoshop, but then I thought:

Who are you kidding...

Brown - the white horse is called Dea. She has uniquely beautiful eyes and is very obedient with guests at the base and during photo shoots. Not so with the black mare Ellie. Despite her small size, she is a very stocky and wild mare. It has the character of a wild mustang. As the girl taking care of the horses was positioning her for a photo she just decided to run off to the ranch. Maybe she hadn't eaten her food when we brought her out for the session.
Lara immediately chased after her while I waited, photographing the scene, but it didn't turn out to be a good photo.

He approached her several times but could not catch her. I saw a bag of pears. I picked one up and threw it at Lara. Konya was apparently really hungry because he voluntarily went to her.

First time someone ran away from my photoshoot... I'm glad it was a horse!

And as for photographing horses, you have to be really patient with the animals. Because of their long necks, horses have very few angles for close-up portraits that look good compositionally. From a low perspective, things always look better. In this way we give majesty to the horse. Keep the shutter speed as high as possible, because at any moment the horse can turn its head sharply. You don't want to blur the photo, do you?
I usually keep the aperture at 2 because of the bokeh, but you can experiment. You know about ISO - the less, the better.

I decided to play around with Photoshop. I turned one of the portraits into a painting. I don't know if I like it or not, but I will release this option as a photo option - a picture with a designer wooden frame. Someone might decide to decorate their wall, you know…

THANKS FOR SHARING THIS STORY!

I took the shots with Kanos EOS RP / 85 mm lens

FREEDOM IS ACTION AND A WAY OF THINKING…


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now