Cascais: A Land of Kings and Fisherman - In Photo.

Hello,

So a few weeks ago, I decided to get up very early (not usually how I roll) and go take some photos.

Luckily, I live in a place, with several nice landscapes... It's a place called Cascais - The Land of Kings and Fisherman. It's a "village" on the outskirts of Lisbon, Portugal.

Allow me to share some of the photos, I was able to catch at sun rise.

I really like this one, was even thinking of selling it, as stock footage, but apparently, you can not show buildings...

This "modest house" also as a nice history, but we won't get into it. But I think it's super pretty. Great architecture, great surroundings. And yeah, that's the Atlantic Ocean.

They don't make houses like this anymore...

I'm standing in a platform over the sea, that used to be used by the local fisherman. Well, it's still used by them, but much less than before. Less and less local fisherman... Hope we get back into it.

(I did a few editing techniques for the first time in this photo. Maybe I'll make other posts about the editing process)

Talking about independent fisherman and their tiny boats, let's turn the camera to the other side.

This is right in front of the previous house. I had my back to this boat in the previous photo.

I must say, I also like this one.

A little remainder of the fisherman. The boat, the sun rising, the fish cages, the ocean... What a beauty. It almost makes you forget we're in 2021.

And right next to the boat, I took this one:

The beauty of the simple.

It even has virtually no editing. Simple, simple, simple and I like it.

This one, also has some of that "simple vibe" going on. And you can see the first house in the back. You see it?

It does not have many colours, but I pop the saturation up. For some reason, I think it needed that. Or at least, it worked.

Again a reminder of a time before. This type of things (the pillar) where erected all over the world, centuries ago by the Portuguese sea explorers.

It's crazy hein, they where defying all knowledge, science and technology of the time.

Did what no one, had done before. Just to get past the first cape in the African coast (still in the northern hemisphere) It took them something like 30 expeditions, many resources (while the country had just been on the verge of collapse) many lives lost...

And yet they carried a bunch of this heavy pillars on their boats.

After this little History tour, let's look at another photo:

This one is in the "old area" - A couple minutes walk, from were we where before.

I also like this one. (Guess I like my photos quite a bit hehehhe)

Been wanting to go and make a session just off this old area soon. Maybe at sunset thought. But pretty no?

Guess I don't love this one after all ;)

Just liked the detail of the walk sign and corner pin. And also wanted a "closed" photo, within this open / wide landscape session.

This is also part of the "Caminho de Santiago" by the way. You know the Santiago de Compostela, "El Caminho"? - However, not sure this arrow, points to it, or another walk... Hun... should check that one out. I think it is. (There is another pilgrim's way here as well)

Below the previous house, we find this statue. I like this one as well. Most people, don't even know what it represents.

And last but not least:

Another landscape. On the right you can see the first house.

Hope you enjoy it.

This was all taken with a wide angle lense. A tokina one.

Let me know what you think. And if you would like more technical stuff or some look at editing. Or BTS... let me know.

Have a great one.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center