The Last Proper Summer Day: Countryside + Swim + Steam Train

Today was slightly cooler but only slightly compared to the forecast. It was around 26 C but the air was humid and when I left for the beach I heard a distant rumble. There were thunder showers somewhere in the southwest.

DSC_0365.jpg

As you can see, the ground is completely dry but the sky is already quite dark.

DSC_0366.jpg

IMG_E8781_01.jpg

IMG_E8790.JPG

Tönnö stone bridge

IMG_E8785.JPG

The river Porvoo. The bulding on the left is a mill. It is electric now but it is still powered by the river. There is a generator inside the low grey structure in front of it.

IMG_E8789.JPG


DSC_0370.jpg

IMG_E8792.JPG

The rumbling noise from the west was getting louder and I had to hurry.

DSC_0371.jpg

The skies are getting darker.

IMG_E8806.JPG


DSC_0373.jpg

It wasn't raining when I plunged into the lake, yet. But it started raining immediately after coming out of the lake and under an awning to get dressed. I was a bit surprised to see people go into the lake after myself.

DSC_0377.jpg

DSC_0376.jpg

IMG_E8808_01.jpg

Everyone is out of the water by now. I had to run to my car to avoid getting soaking wet. There was no thunder and lightning right above the lake but it wasn't far. Getting electrocuted is not my idea of an ideal conclusion to an otherwise ideal summer.


After I left, the rain really picked up. There was hail, too. I thought the paint on the my car could be damaged.

IMG_E8814.JPG

IMG_E8816.JPG

IMG_E8820.JPG

IMG_E8820_01.jpg

It's actually a bit better in black and white, don't you think?

IMG_E8821_01.jpg


Further north, it did not rain as much any longer.

IMG_E8834_01.jpg

IMG_E8835_01.jpg

IMG_E8836_01.jpg


I missed the train in Orimattila where I originally planned to shoot some pictures or a video of it. It was early and I was caught with my mouth full of fries in my car with no camera ready.

But I drove north faster (while observing the speed limit) than the train and caught it here. Video of the steam train passing below. I got a proper video of it. The thumbnail functionality is acting up.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now