Honour System at the Farm Stand 農家直売所のオーナーシステム [English and Japanese]

IMG_8911.jpeg

Honour System at the Farm Stand

I went to the farm stand to buy corn, but they had already run out. The atmosphere of the stand had changed, and the colours of the autumn vegetables were so beautiful.

I was surprised they don’t have corn anymore this year, as it’s still early autumn. Usually, there’s a huge amount of corn until mid-autumn. I've noticed that local farms have been changing significantly compared to a few years ago.

Anyway, I enjoyed checking out the pretty farm stand. The Halloween and harvest atmosphere seems to come earlier each year.

IMG_8907.jpeg

When I arrived at the farm stand today, my eyes were immediately drawn to the colourful pumpkins. People looked so happy holding big pumpkins. I love the orange ones, of course, but I’m especially fond of the uniquely shaped ones.

IMG_8915.jpeg

The stand is open from 10 to 6 almost all the time from summer through autumn. Sometimes, students help as cashiers during peak times on weekends. I bumped into some of my old students before. They're already in their last year of elementary school and will be in high school next year! Time flies.

IMG_8909.jpeg

This is such a typical countryside scene near the farms. I love seeing the peaceful scenery like this.

IMG_8912.jpeg

These are the colourful dried corn ornaments they were selling. They look beautiful, don’t they? Corn is my favourite vegetable, and I never get tired of eating it. I wish I could harvest and eat corn all year long.

IMG_8913.jpeg

They also sell pretty sunflower bouquets like this. I love their antique-style interior. Yellow flowers are such cheerful colours for summer and early autumn. My own sunflowers in the backyard haven’t bloomed yet. They usually start in late autumn.

IMG_8914.jpeg

There are many honour system stands in this area, which is common in rural places like my hometown. I think this system works so well because people trust and respect each other.

It means less plastic, less work, and more support for the community. Plus, no electricity is needed for these types of stands. I think we could expand this model to sell art, books, toys, and more.

IMG_8910.jpeg

I wanted to buy corn, but since it wasn’t available, I bought beautiful eggplants and jalapeno peppers instead. I plan to make mabo eggplant soon.

My husband is probably thinking about making a dip sauce with the jalapeno peppers.

IMG_8908.jpeg

People put their money in a box to pay, and I love the handwritten signs they use. It gives the business such a cool, personal touch. I hope to visit a few more times before the season ends, but if not, I’ll definitely be back next season.

IMG_2655.png
Japanese 日本語

IMG_8911.jpeg

農家直売所のオーナーシステム

近所の農家の直売所にとうもろこしを買いに行ったのですが、今年はもうすでにとうもろこし部門が終了していました。直売所の雰囲気は一層され、秋野菜の色合いで美しくなっていました。

まだ秋の初旬にもかかわらず、とうもろこしの販売が終了していたのには驚きました。たいていはものすごい量のとうもろこしが秋の中旬くらいまで販売しています。ここ数年で地元の農家が変化していることに気づかざるを得ません。

かわいらしい直売所を見て回るのが楽しかったです。ハロウィンと収穫の雰囲気が年々早まってきているのを感じます。

IMG_8907.jpeg

直売所に到着するとすぐに、色鮮やかなかぼちゃに目を奪われました。大きなかぼちゃを抱えた人たちは嬉しそうでした。オレンジ色のかぼちゃはもちろんかわいらしくて大好きですが、おもしろい形をしたかぼちゃも好きです。

IMG_8915.jpeg

この直売所は夏から秋にかけて朝の10時から夕方6時まで営業しています。ときどき、ピーク時の週末になると学生さんがレジのお手伝いをしています。以前、昔の生徒さんたちに偶然出くわしました。今年は小学校最終学年に進学するらしいです。来年からは高校生!時の流れはあっという間です。

IMG_8909.jpeg

これは近所の農家でよく見かける光景です。このようなおだやかな景色を眺めるのが好きです。

IMG_8912.jpeg

これはカラフルな乾燥とうもろこしのオーナメントです。とってもきれいですよね。とうもろこしは私のいちばん好きな野菜です。続けて食べても飽きる気がしません。とうもろこしを通年収穫して食べることができたらいいのに…と思ってしまいます。

IMG_8913.jpeg

ひまわりのブーケも販売しています。アンティークの飾りがまたいい味を出しています。黄色は元気を象徴する夏と初秋の色合いです。私の庭のひまわりは相変わらず今年も遅咲きで、おそらく秋の終わり頃に咲くのではないかと思います。

IMG_8914.jpeg

この辺りにはオーナーシステム様式の直売所が多いです。私の故郷でも田舎の方に行くとオーナーシステムの直売所をよく見かけます。お互いに信頼し尊敬し合うオーナーシステムはとてもいいなと思います。

プラスチックの使用を減らし、労働力も減らすことができ、地域でサポートし合えるのではないかと思います。さらに、このような直売所はまったく電力を使用しないのも利点に感じます。アート、本、おもちゃなども販売できるのではないでしょうか。

IMG_8910.jpeg

残念ながらとうもろこしが買えなかったので、美しいなすびとハラペーニョを購入しました。そのうち麻婆茄子を作ろうと考えています。

主人はハラペーニョでディップソースを作ろうと考えているようです。

IMG_8908.jpeg

この箱の中にお金を入れておきます。チョークで書かれた字体がとても素敵ですね。この直売所のビジネススタイルはとても素敵で惹かれます。今シーズン、もう数回行けるといいなと思っています。もし来れなかったら、また来年絶対訪れます。

IMG_2655.png

Thank you for reading!
お読みいただきありがとうございます。

IMG_0998.jpeg
https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments