Senior pictures but make it cultural!

What’s up, Hive? Okay. With a second blog post in a week I’m feeling that I’m back. I’ve been shooting and editing more which is giving me fresh content to share at night and that’s encouraging. I met with two friends today for a photo shoot in the Minnesota fall leaves and cryptocurrency came up. I mentioned to them that my car was bought with NFT’s and Hive, which started an entire conversation about Hive as a social network. One of my friends is a prolific Redditer and I told her she’d do great here. At one point I said, “I’ve been blogging on there since 2016.”, and it struck me that I’m coming up on a decade of regular posting here on Hive!

This shoot is from a recent senior picture session I was hired for. The girl is a barista at the local coffee shop I hang out at and when she found out that I was a photographer, she asked, “Do you do senior photos?”. I mean, it’s a bear market and has been for years. I shoot almost anything that people pay me for at this point. This, though, I was actually excited for. She’s super cool and creative and took the session seriously. She ordered a few gowns and a traditional Somali Dirac. I found us a beautiful location in uptown Minneapolis with a rock garden then called in a favor with friends of mine that own a mansion with a stunning fountain.

This has been a big departure for me from my old work. If you’ve been reading and following my career over the last 8 years, I’m known for shooting pinup photography. I’ve closed that chapter of my career and I’m now focusing on modest and traditional shoots. I may still share some of my old work here on Hive when I edit new photos from the past, but my new clients and priority is this. This was only the second or third shoot I’ve done and I’m gaining more and more confidence with each session. It’s a challenge but for the first time in years I feel like I’m growing as an artist.

In the end, I was really pleased with how this shoot turned out. The balance of strong composition and personality with the textures and culture of the wardrobe really felt like a compliment of one another. I’m hoping to get more work like this in the future. Tomorrow is Sunday. @guthrie has had a busy weekend with friends and is probably going to stay home playing Fortnite before going back to school so I’m going to take my laptop to the coffee shop and edit some of these new photos I took this afternoon. More to come here on Hive tomorrow night, I hope. Thanks for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center