New dark pinup work w/ Minneapolis tattoo artist @kellifury!

What’s up, Hive? This is something of a return to blogging — I hope. I know one day I’ll reread these posts with a knowledge of how each era of my life played a role in a grand plan, but this particular time has been the hardest I’ve ever been through. There is so much happening, so much changing, it’s impossible to get a footing. My internal and external worlds have collapsed and it’s causing me to reevaluate everything. @tarotbyfergus gave me a reading ten months ago that was rooted in The Hermit and I’m still walking that agonizing path today. I’m eager for the clarity that’ll come from the lessons.

One thing I did do today was edit. I pulled myself away and managed to get a few hours of work in at @caffetto and during that time, I revisited a shoot I did with @kellifury from the summer. She and I did a trade. A dark pinup shoot in exchange for my neck tattoo and thankfully, she’s a sweetheart that was patient while I tried to figure my life out these last four months. I’ve known @kellifury for over 13 years and we’ve shot together several times. This is a new chapter of our lives, both in our forties now and she’s looking better than ever. I was grateful for that we had the chance for this collaboration.

We shot at my house which was the backdrop for the entire session. Over the years, I’ve collected antiques to create a haunted atmosphere in my home. The plan was to always create an aesthetic that could double the rooms as shoot locations and since it was the summer, we were even able to take some shots in the garden on a bed of clover. We took a break until the sun set and wrapped the shoot with low light images taken in my bedroom and living room with candles. Looking at these photos, it’s amazing to see our evolution as both photographer and model.

There will be at least one more set of these photos still to come. We didn’t define the parameters of the tattoo and photo trade but there are so many great shots and I love her so much, I have to do a few more. For the rest of the night, I’m going to try and wind down with some illustration. I have a few personal projects I’m working on while trying to wrap up commitments for a job @swarddraws and I took on together two months ago. I’m sleepy but this is the quietest time of the day when everyone is asleep and I can find flow state. Have a great night!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center