First dark pinup photos from Viva Las Vegas!

Hey, Hive! I’m coming to you from Viva Las Vegas Rockabilly Weekend! Today kicked off the official start of the event and all the festivities. As I mentioned in my last blog, this’ll be a much different year for me. I usually overcommit and overbook myself in to straight up nihilism. I charge $1000 for a private shoot, but that also means I’m on the hook for hair, make-up, sometimes both, and a location. This year, I’m only showing up as a guest photographer for other people’s events, and I have to say, it’ll been amazing. Also, I’m not doing LA this trip. Whew!

My first event began Thursday night at Palms Place in Las Vegas. Eight models booked in total, six the first night and two early before check out this morning. Our first model was Princess Cavaleraa, seen above. The fact that I’m even able to sit down and edit a photo from this trip before being back in Minneapolis is an indication of how much different the pace is. Princess came in strong and owned her presence in front of the camera. High atop the 36th floor, we caught perfect golden hour light as the sun set over the mountains. Dream scenario for a photographer.

Our shoots this morning really wrapped up a strong day of creative pinup collaboration. The team I’ve been working with on this event is really what makes it all so enjoyable. Jamie owns a vintage wardrobe and jewelry brand called Sparrow to Dragonfly. Ana J was the hosting photography for the event and this is our fifth year working together during Viva […given that the last two years were cancelled]. Over the years, I’ve worked with some bad teams and those experiences have made me appreciate all the good.

Once I made my way to The Artisan, I met with Cooper and Farah of Lovely Organic Apothecary. It’s nice having Minnesota friends along for this massive vintage convention. We went to eat at Veggie House, then I dropped them off downtown on Main Street to walk the vintage shops and boutiques. I took a nap in their hotel, then a couple hours later, my friend Miki met me at The Artisan for our first shoot in years. During the evening, Cooper snapped this portrait of me while I was waiting for the last model to arrive.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center