Fire sign energy w/ Roxy!

What’s up, friends?! Just got home from a full day. Waiting to get paid from some folks, paying others. Getting ready to travel to Vegas for the big annual Viva Las Vegas Rockabilly Weekend. I did enjoy some downtime at @caffetto during the evening. @vermillionfox and @guthrie practiced needle felting while I worked on finishing some illustration and a few photos that I’ll be sharing tonight. I didn’t go as hard on my home cooked meal tonight, but I did try a plant based breaded fish fillet and crab cakes. Essh! I’m talking about my food now. Okay, moving on.

I went back to a shoot from January of this year. 2020, I managed to make a cross country drive from Minnesota to California for a wedding. That was a highlight of the year, especially considering most of that year was spent in doors. 2021 was a wash. Other than two trips back to Pennsylvania, I didn’t do much as far as travel. Starting 2022 with a return to LA was cathartic as a symbol that I was overcoming the backslides associated with COVID and those setting the policies. This first shoot with with a beautiful model named Roxy.

We had become Instagram friends, though I can’t recall who introduced who. She would often post stories in the neighborhood where I often stayed when in Los Angeles. At some point, I extended the offer for us to shoot together for fun. The shoot itself had an immediately creative energy and as it turned out, we’re both Leo’s. As often happens, Leo’s tend to hype each other up, […at least in the beginning]. We explored areas around La Cañada, shooting at a bed of ivy I’d always passed and thought, “…one day, I’m going to shoot there.”. I finally did.

This’ll most likely be the final set with Roxy. I’ve done quite a few edits from this shoot and these were the last ones. The best for last, I’d say. I was hoping to see her and shoot with her again in April. Each other, I would typically visit LA before or after Viva, but this year, with Monsterpalooza happening in June, my friend Cindy recovering from surgery and the overall additional expense of traveling and being away from home even longer, I decided to keep the trip to Vegas. Maybe later this year. I’d love to collaborate with her again. Thanks for reading! Good night!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center