Where it all begun or Photography of Hands and Tobacco pouches

Even though the shape and form are different, what I do still sometimes brings me back to ideas and projects I already had in mind years ago.

I would like to talk about what I am doing from a slightly different point of view in this time.

As much as I definitely enjoy taking photos of my work process and of the finished clothes I am making, while talking about where and why all the thoughts and inspirations came from. I also discovered how much fun I am having taking photos of “products” no clothes no model, only things and objects.

There is a story to those photos of the Tobacco pouch series I am sharing with you, and I don’t want to leave it away.

About ten years ago (crazy that I am able to say that now) a friend of mine and myself started a brand/business idea where we were designing and sewing mainly Tobacco pouches and Bags.
The idea came from, such a pouch I got from another friend whom`s good intention was to quit smoking. Lucky me, because whoever smoked rolling tobacco at some stage in his or her life, knows what a mess it is to keep track on where your filters, papers or lighter went. Certainly, they are all over the place distributed unevenly in your bags and pockets and never where you want them.

That’s where we found our inspiration and the need to create those tobacco pouches, where you could store everything neat and nice. And have it in a lovely design bag on top of it. (For any non-smoker you could store whatever else you want in the pouch, but the main use was designed for tobacco.)

We had lots of fun, and the project went quite well, first we sold only to friends, soon even people we didn’t know would reach out to us. We took serigraphy courses to be able to print our fabrics, even had an Atelier for a while where we would spend our days sewing, and in the evening have some friends over, aperos, conversations, lots of inspiration and creativity.

Up to now I still meet people sometimes, that would ask me if we were still at it, if they could get a bag or that still have theirs from back in the days. Still in use and intact.

Makes me a bit nostalgic every time. Maybe that’s why I am writing about it now.

Because unfortunately, we didn’t keep going, even though we loved what we did. I guess school with all its forms of distraction came between us. And once it was her, once me not finding the time because of final exams and stress of studding and passing the diploma.
Once we lost track it was pretty much over.
Every time we would meet (less and less over the years) and up to now, we would get excited and nostalgic over the idea to bring our business back up and get back into it. Every time we would promise to each other to try.
Surprise: It never happened.

I would say that if I had any regrets about my schoolyears that would be probably one, to not keep going when it actually worked and would, could have worked on pretty well. But what’s the point to regret? I guess I learned from it.

About a year or two ago, I finally accepted completely that if sewing Tobacco pouches still resonates with me, it would be something I would have to do by myself or at least with a different motivation. Based on new inspiration. And stop dreaming about old times that wouldn’t come back anyways.

I made some Pouches, from obviously 😊 secondhand fabrics, reusing different materials, using different techniques. Sewing by hand, by sewing machine, even add some embroidery.

I enjoyed myself very much, creating them, and taking photos of them. (As you can notice, my intention to take photos of the process wasn’t that well defined yet.)

Before I come to the end I want to let you enjoy some of those photos I am talking about:

During the process I also realized, that focusing on Tobacco pouches isn’t really where I am at anymore. Even though I still think it is a great way, to use up leftover fabrics, or create something nice from little recourses. On top of that, it is such a small item, you could also sew it completely by hand, while traveling for example, not needing a whole lot of tools, equipment and material for it.

In the end I am glad I tried, at last by myself. And I don’t have to focus on “what-ifs” anymore, but actually moved on. Getting inspired by my resonation from the past and creating something new out of it. Which is more who I am now. Still sewing, still creating and designing with fabric but rather in the direction of slow and sustainable fashion. A little Tobacco pouch here and there might still have its space in my work. Or at least in my photographic approach.

Thank you to read my thoughts and make me share them with you!
I appreciate the exchange and the inspiration coming from it.
Have a lovely weekend!

(all photos are mine, taken by me)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center