A day at Australia Zoo!

5.jpg

Yesterday we went to Australia Zoo, located in Beerwah, Queensland.

It's a good two and a half hour drive from where we are on the Fraser Coast, and it's a major tourist destination at the best of times, so I thought that going on a school day and not during the holidays or a weekend would be best. Turns out it was! If it was this packed on a non-day, I'd hate to see it during the holidays.

No surprise, but I'm not a people person. πŸ˜†

3.jpg

The only other Australian zoo I've been to is Taronga Zoo in Sydney. And I'd just like to say right now that if you're a foreigner to Australia and you want to go visit one of our zoos... hands down I'd pick Taronga.

No disrespect to the Irwins, but Australia Zoo does not feel Australian. I feel like I waltzed straight into an American themepark that just so happened to have animals on theme.

9.jpg

I mean, if that's your jam, absolutely, go to the garish themepark zoo where they've literally remixed Steve Irwin's dialogue into rap music.

I'm not even joking.

I was horrified when I heard that. The man's dead. Sure, use his image, but still... allow him a modicum of respect.

14.jpg

We didn't get good seating at the Wildlife Warrior show, but here's a snap of Robert Irwin channeling his inner Steve. (Performing so nonchalantly even after listening to his dad's voice remixed into terrible music. Good grief. I'll never get over that.)

7.jpg

Anyway. It was a nice day yesterday. 😊

12.jpg

Due to the amount of people and being there with a hyperactive child, I didn't really get a chance to stop and take a lot of photos, but in this post I'm sharing the ones I managed to take that don't look like a hastily snapped snap as I got dragged past. 🀣

I hope you like them!

1.jpg

Β 

Until next time! 🐯🐍🐒

Β 


Β 

All photos in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci and were taken with a Nikon Z50.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center