JANUARY COLOURS - Rural photography from Montalbán, Carabobo, Venezuela.

Tcats.jpg


It's January, the dry season is here and the colours are beginning to mutate in a fascinating way. This is especially noticeable on foggy mornings, when the light tries to show the shapes and the shadows are still struggling to hide them. So it's a good time to go for a walk in the mornings and steal those moments of luminous interdict with my camera...

T01.jpg
📷 01-"Half burnt path"

T02.jpg
📷 02-"On the sad road"

T03.jpg
📷 03-"The old sugar mill"

I decide to walk into the countryside, because it is in the countryside where you can best observe the transition from green to brown and reddish tones. So the chromaticism is lean but diverse. This creates a complex and at the same time eloquent atmosphere for the photos. Things seem to be closer to each other, there is a kind of "visual intimacy" in all the scenes. That makes shooting in this environment deeply enjoyable and inspiring.

T04.jpg
📷 04-"The Old Tobacco Factory"

T05.jpg
📷 05-"A piece of old growth forest"

T06.jpg
📷 06-"On the way to nothing"

T07.jpg
📷 07-"Bucolic glimpse"

Obviously, it's impossible for me to go on this walk and take these photos without getting into a lot of reflections. When I do this I remember my childhood wandering in these rural grounds, I remember my youth, I remember loved ones who are no longer here, I am prone to reflection and I immerse myself in a world where time is compressed and it seems to be possible to access epochs just by thinking about them. I also (as you can see) invent strange titles for the photographs almost as I capture them with my camera. There are few people in this place at this hour, so it's even possible for me to do crazy things like reciting a mantra at the top of my voice as I walk along the paths and roads...

T08.jpg
📷 08-"Shhhhhh... There's silence here"

T09.jpg
📷 09-"Flowering Araguaney, prophet of rains"

T10.jpg
📷 10-"Hacienda St. John's"

I walk these places very often. But this landscape is something which changes noticeably with each season. So it is not really always the same path. In fact, from month to month, you can see how everything starts to happen differently. That is something in which we photographers (and other kinds of crazy and sensitive people) are ahead of mere mortals, we can "understand the subtle changes of the environment" and steal them in images, weigh them, write them down in poems, sing them in songs, paint them, give them to heaven in a prayer... God save me from mental sanity!... Good heavens! ;)

T11.jpg
📷 11-"Density"

T12.jpg
📷 12-"The kiss of drought"

T13.jpg
📷 13-"A dog after the fog"

I'm leaving, these have been my photos with "January colours" to share with you today. But don't worry, it will be a long drought, I'm sure of that. So this is just the beginning of a season of photos where the trees will be bare and the roads will be dusty. So soon I will have more pictures that speak of this season of the year and of my thoughts awakened by the complex atmosphere of mornings like this...


Black & white versions

(Yes, as always, here are the monochrome versions of these photos. Is impossible for me to avoid editing them this way also) I hope you like them too! :-)

(Please "CLICK" on the photo to enlarge)

📷 01📷 02📷 03
u01.jpgu02.jpgu03.jpg
📷 04📷 05📷 06
u04.jpgu05.jpgu06.jpg
📷 07📷 08📷 09
u07.jpgu08.jpgu09.jpg
📷 10📷 11📷 12📷 13
u10.jpgu11.jpgu12.jpgu13.jpg


ADDITIONAL TECHNICAL NOTE: Photographs captured with my Nikon D7000 DSLR camera in RAW format, then processed in Adobe Camera RAW for adjustments regarding light, sharpening, contrast and depth... The shots are then exported to JGP format on which minor modifications such as straightening and adding watermarks were carried out using PhotoScape 3.6.3.


Thank you very much for your visit and appreciation!


"We make photographs to understand what our lives mean to ourselves." - Ralph Hattersley.

CED_DSC1187BN-horz.jpg


Camera: Nikon D7000
Lens: AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR


Montalbán, Carabobo, Venezuela.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now