Callejón de Hamel: Photo Shoot con Emilio [EN-ES]

miniatura.jpg

Hello friends, this Saturday I had the pleasure of doing a photo shoot in a magical place: Callejón de Hamel (Hamel's Alley).
An emblematic place in Havana that is located between Aramburu and Hospital streets. This space was in its beginnings a foundry of Fernando Belleau Hamel from which this alley of Havana takes its name.
The place is dedicated to Afro-Cuban culture and there converge symbols, graffiti, sculptures, dances, and a rich diversity of artistic expressions in general. It is undoubtedly a must-visit if you come to the city.
Emblematic figures of international music such as Jimmy Page, Led Zeppelin's guitarist, and Ziggy Marley, Bob Marley's drummer, have visited the place.
This time the session was with Emilio, he wrote me a Whatsapp the day before knowing that I was going to be in that area and proposed me to take some pictures.

As you can see in the images, we tried to transmit the strength and vibrancy of the place.
His shirt, with yellow and green colors, symbolize Orula, one of the fundamental deities of the pantheon of the Yoruba religion, considered the god of divination.

As this session is quite extensive, I will post it in two parts.

Hola amigos! este sábado tuve el gusto de hacer una sesión de fotos en un lugar mágico: El Callejón de Hamel.
Un sitio emblemático de La Habana que se encuentra ubicado entre las calles Aramburu y Hospital. Este espacio era en sus comienzos un de fundición de Fernando Belleau Hamel del cual toma su nombre este rincón habanero.
El lugar está dedicado a la cultura afrocubana y allí convergen símbolos, graffitis, esculturas, bailes, y una rica diversidad de expresiones artísticas en general. Es sin duda un espacio de visita obligado si vienes a conocer la ciudad.

Han visitado el lugar figuras emblemáticas de la música internacional como Jimmy Page, Guitarrista de Led Zepellin y Ziggy Marley, baterista de Bob Marley.
En esta ocasión la sesión fue con Emilio, él me escribió un Whatsapp el día anterior sabiendo que iba a estar por esa zona y me propuso hacerle algunas fotos.

Como verán en las imágenes, buscamos transmitir la fuerza y lo vibrante del lugar.
Su camisa, con los colores amarillos y verdes, simbolizan a Orula, una de deidades fundamentales del panteón de la religión yoruba, considerado el dios de la adivinación.

Al ser una sesión bastante extensa la postearé en dos partes.


_D759265.jpg


_D759256.jpg


_D759262.jpg


_D759267.jpg


_D759234.jpg


_D759246.jpg


_D759259.jpg


_D759255.jpg


_D759252.jpg


_D759276.jpg


_D759307.jpg


_D759283.jpg

I do not consider myself a religious person, although in my family there is a great mix of everything, as probably happens in many Cuban families.
My grandfather Andrés, for example, practiced Palo Monte, as did my uncle. My stepbrother is a babalawo and my stepsister a santera and paternal grandmother was a spiritist.
On the maternal side, my grandmother was an evangelical Christian, just like my brother and his wife. Like my mom and dad, I don't practice any religion, although the truth could be said that I do not consider myself an atheist, either.

It is such a great mixture of cultures and religions that make up this country that I find richness in almost all of them, as well as things that I don't like either and some I completely dislike, such as the use of animals for religious ceremonies. That kind of thing is quite repulsive to me and I can't understand it, and I don't think I ever will.
However, the dancing, the singing, the colorfulness, the stories, that I do enjoy.
That's why this place seems almost magical to me, with all its graffiti and small spaces full of messages.
I hope you liked it, because we had a great time!

No me considero una persona religiosa, aunque en mi familia hay una gran mezcla de todo, como probablemente ocurre en muchas familias cubanas. Mi abuelo Andrés por ejemplo practicaba el Palo Monte, al igual que mi tío. Mi hermanastro es babalawo y mi hermana santera. En el caso de mi abuela paterna era espiritista.👻

Por la rama materna, mi abuelita era cristiana evangélica, al igual que mi hermano y su esposa. Yo, como mi mamá y mi papá no practicamos ninguna religión, aunque la verdad podría decirse que no me considero atea tampoco.
Es una mezcla tan grande de culturas y religiones que forman este país que encuentro riqueza es casi todas así como situaciones que tampoco me gustan y algunas las repelo por completo como el uso de animales para las ceremonias religiosas. Ese tipo de cosas me causan bastante repulsión y no logro entenderlas, ni creo que vaya a hacerlo algun día.

Sin embargo, el baile, el canto, el colorido, las historias, eso si me gusta disfrutarlo.
De ahí que este lugar me parezca casi mágico con todos su graffitis y pequeños espacios llenos de mensajes.
Espero que les haya gustado, pues nosotros nos la pasamos genial!

tira.jpg


banner para hipervinculos.png|
MIS REDES SOCIALES
INSTAGRAM ♦️ TWITTER ♦️ LINKEDIN

Apoyo a la comunidad @hivecuba😍

cuhivers_hivecuba_blanco.gif

Apoyo a la comunidad @aliento😍

You can vote for the witness https://vote.hive.uno/@aliento

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now