Self Portraiture

jalen PHOTOSHOOT CLEAN (5 of 19).jpg
I’m back to the #Hive today with some self portraits. I’ve been learning a lot recently about lighting and photo composition. I’ve been doing plenty of event photography, getting my name around town, however I’m looking to add portrait photography and headshot photography to my list of advertisable skills as such I need a model. Now I personally am not a fan of being in front of the camera. I tend to freeze up so the expressions I’m giving today, in my mind aren’t much, and really took a lot of effort for me to convey, but that’s not the point.
jalen PHOTOSHOOT CLEAN (6 of 19).jpg
I’ve been spending the last few weeks studying lighting whether it be with flashes such as a speedlite or continuous LED lights and really learning how to shape the visuals of my photography and visualize what it is I want the final image to look like before bringing it in to post. I’ve been learning through a mix of random behind the scenes posts on Instagram, YouTube videos from people such as John Daniel Norton and Lindsay Adler, two very very informative, very well skilled photographers.

jalen PHOTOSHOOT CLEAN (3 of 19).jpg
So the reason why I decided to take photos today is simply because I was waiting on a soft box to arrive from Amazon but that unfortunately did not happen so instead of letting the day go to waste I decided to take out some of the lights that I’ve owned for years now and start to practice shaping the light based on what I’ve been learning the last couple weeks.
jalen PHOTOSHOOT CLEAN (2 of 2).jpg

I started out playing with just simple colors that complimented my skin tone and then I eventually started to add some variety to the shots as you can see. Trying out different positions for lights to see what effects I can get and I’m pretty happy with the results as far as self portraits go.
As far as lighting exercises goes I’m very very happy with the results. I did all of these shots in my bedroom in about a 5 foot space.
jalen PHOTOSHOOT CLEAN (13 of 19).jpg
On the technical side I used, as usual, my Panasonic Lumix GH4 and for the lens a Tamron 28mm lens, which I have not used in I don’t even know how long with a speed booster that gives me an extra stop of light and about .71 extra focal length. So the focal length used is really 19.88mm lens on a micro 4/3 camera, so if you’re talking full frame it’s about a 40mm equivalent. All the photos were edited in Lightroom.

jalen PHOTOSHOOT CLEAN (16 of 19).jpg
Oh and I almost forgot about the lights! what actual lights are used are used two Viltrox L132T2 and a HAGIBIS Queen10. The Viltrox lights were hooked up to two C-stands while the Hagibis was hooked up to a regular light stand behind me. I was able to have ample light for my face getting my skin tones right while also able to light the background with minimal spillage considering that I don’t have any barn doors or any ways to really shape these LED lights. Hope you enjoy thanks for having me.

NFT Collectibles Available Now
Follow Me on Instagram

Mine Bitcoin (BTC) From Your Web Browser
Earn Free Cryptocurrency Playing Online Games
Mine The UnMineable

All photos & videos are mine, Produced By Me, unless otherwise noted


Tech Specs:
Camera - Panasonic Lumix GH4
Lens - Tamron 28mm
Editing - Adobe Lightroom

image.png

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center