Of Blooms and Colors


"Always be on the lookout for the presence of wonder" -

E.B.White


Take a closer look, something is out there :)



Hello, everyone!

Our world is filled with beauty and wonders and we are gifted with a pair of eyes that see and a heart to appreciate them too.

I am one who is easily drawn to beautiful things and I love touring around when in other people's yards, those whom I know of course :) Most of them are aware of my fascination about everything - plants, nature, flowers and things and they don't really mind me snooping around their gardens, lol!



And here's to share some raw shots taken during a visit to an aunt's home last year. Her back and front yard garden is so fascinating that I took a wee tour myself and without asking for permission, I photographed her beautiful, blooming plants (the fly is a bonus, lol!)



I am no professional photographer and I still lack the basic knowledge of capturing, but I just love taking photos with my phone camera. And I love sharing my snaps too :)

These by the way, are known as the "Philippine Ground Orchid" or Spathoglottis Plicata or simply "purple orchids."



The colors, shapes, intricate details and everything else mesmerize me. At times I couldn't fathom how they come about, but I appreciate them in wonderment just the same. This below is called Madagascar Periwinkle, or most commonly known as Bright Eyes, Old Maid, or Pink Periwinkle.

And ah, that fly is a bonus too!



And here's the most fabulous fuschia! They were thriving well with the coffee tree :)



And according to Google Lens, these yellow babies are called "Moss-Rose Purslane" or Portulaca grandiflora or sun rose are they are commonly known here in our place. They crawl where they grow. It is said that they are native to Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay.



Apparently, these flowers, called Globe Amaranth are edible. I now have to ask my aunt if they ever tried having these on their table.



And these orange begonias and yellow Peruvian Lilies add bright colors to her yard too!



And of course, a garden can't be without a rose!


Thank you and I wish you a mesmerizing and colorful day!

All photos are my own. 170322/12:05PH



FarmGirl writes from their little kingdom in the mountains of PHL.
She muses mostly about life, adventure/travel, nature, food, coffee, gardening and others.
You can also find her on Read -o- Noise -o- Torum -o- Twitter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center