Did you see the Aurora Borealis last night ?

Well we had a spectacular treat here in Edinburgh last night - the Aurora Borealis was shining like a good-un !

We call them the Northern Lights here in the UK. Although I've seen them quite a bit before, I think this may be the furthest south I've seen them.

I would not normally expect to see them here in the city due to light pollution. In fact, I was seeing facebook posts from friends that were seeing them all over the UK. I just assumed we wouldnt be able to see them, but eventually took a look out of our dinning room window, and there they were right across the street from us !!!

We alerted the other residents in our apartment building and a number of us went straight to the roof to have a look - they were fantastic !!!! This is probably the second best display I've seen, and only the second time I've seen red in them - the last time being October 1992 !

They were going right overhead which was pretty impressive. We all stayed out on the roof for a while to watch them - even though it was freezing !

I also heard reports from one of my cousins who saw them in Pennsylvania over in the US - so they were being seen at fairly lowish latitudes compared to normal.

For info, mine were all taken on my mobile phone (Samsung A53) on a standard night setting (just point and click - not post-alteration). I was impressed how they came out !

Anyway - I hope you saw them where you live. Did you get any good pics ???

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center