Holly at the Beach - Photography using an external, off camera flash and umbrella (10 images)

I am not an aquatic creature. In the world of photography, however, there are many aquatic creatures. There's those that like to take photos of sunsets lingering over beaches, or the waves crashing over rocks.

Not being an individual with an affinity towards to the sea makes it generally difficult for me to enjoy such images, but there's a certain level of patience, planning and skill that goes into generating such images.

I discovered this very quickly when Holly suggested we produce some images down by the sea side.

We went through a couple of outfits - and produced a fair few images.

These are not in chronological order, or in the order the were shot, either!

DSC_2321.jpg

DSC_2334.jpg

DSC_2136.jpg

DSC_2209.jpg

DSC_2340.jpg

I struggled a bit with lighting as I only took my AD200 with me, making it difficult to overpower the afternoon sun bouncing off the sandy beach. For a first attempt of using artifical light at the Beach, I think the results are of an acceptable quality.

DSC_2204.jpg

DSC_2216.jpg

I ventured into the water a little bit during this shoot, but was concerned for my own welfare (I can't swim!) - but The water never got above my shins, so there's no way I could've drowned, right?

As I am located in Australia, drowning is the least of my worries, and a more real concern is the fact that the Australian oceans are exclusively inhabited by creatures that can kill you.

Lucky for me I didn't perish at all during this photographic expedition, and you'll have to tolerate the generation of further images from me in the future. :)

DSC_2329.jpg

DSC_2221.jpg

DSC_2226.jpg

Until next time, stay awesome!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency