Scenes from a Bike - Edition 13.1 - Carlton Gardens - The Plants

Welcome to The 13th edition of the series - Scenes from a bike

This Edition facts:

Location: Carlton Gardens, these gardens have been formal gardens since 1868, in 1880 the Exhibition building was built for the world exhibition, and in 1999 the new museum was built in them as well. But today we will be focusing on the Plants and a fountian rather than the buildings. Tomorrow's entry will have the building

Date & Weather: Sunday 6th of November - This is what I imagined when I bought the bike, that it would be sunny (but not too hot) and everything would be perfect - it's spring here, late spring, and it's just getting warm.

Equipment: I've gone simple today - My Fujifilm X-T3, and the 16-80mm Zoom - this is my go to when I don't know what I'll find - so adaptable.

The Concept & Finances: The concept is simple, I've bought an electric bike, on this bike I explore my hometown, Melbourne Australia and take photos, Priority 1 - Finding new places in Melbourne, Priority 2 - taking better photos, Bonus - Earn back the cost of the bike by creating content and getting paid for it on HIVE. The bike cost $1,100 USD. So far I've earned $75.68 from the previous 12 posts meaning I've paid for 7% of the bike and I have $1,024 to go. This is going to take some time, but this is all bonus money, the joy is in the taking of photos.

Other stuff: nothing really.....

Let's see what else I found

Red and Yellow Flower (1 of 1).jpg

f5.6, 250ISO, 1/250, 120mm
I'm going to say it right now, I have no idea what any of these flowers are except to say they are likely Australian natives.

Yellow Close (1 of 1).jpg

f5.6, 250ISO, 1/250, 120mm
Pretty happy with the Bokeh on this

Bird of Paradise (1 of 1).jpg

f13, 250ISO, 1/250, 67mm
Okay I lied - I know this is a bord of paradise

Red Explosion (1 of 1).jpg

f10, 250ISO, 1/250, 120mm
This one looks like a little explosion

Yellow Flower (1 of 1).jpg

5.6f, 250ISO, 1/250, 120mm
Just a study in Composition

Bee (1 of 1).jpg

f10, 250ISO, 1/250, 210mm
LKook it's a bee - now I know nothing about macro photography, and I may not have the right equipment so he/she is not as sharp as it could be - but I like it none the less

Fountation 1 (1 of 1).jpg

f10, 250ISO, 1/250, 24mm
Now onto something different - this is the Exhibition Foundation - made in 1880. Here is the Official description and a couple of close ups of the merpeople...

Also known as Hochgurtel Fountain Three colossal figures, half man, half fish support the first ledge. Above this ledge dance four boys hand in hand representing commerce, industry, science and arts, symbolic designs being shown over their heads. Above the dancers is a second ledge which is embellished with flowers and birds indigenous to Victoria. This design is domed by a further ledge surmounted by a boy bearing a basket of fishes on his head. It is constructed from Portland Cement on a frame of stone and iron. The colossal fountain stands some 10 metres high on the south side of the Royal Exhibition Building, outside the Great Hall. It was constructed for the first of Melbourne’s two grand international world fairs. The fountain’s visual elements were designed to display the young colony’s confidence and advancement, simultaneously signalling the purpose of world fairs to display the produce and industry of nations. At the central level of the fountain, four youths (representing a young and vibrant colony) dance below symbols of the arts, science, commerce and industry; for example, musical instruments, a telescope, sailing ship, steam engine and globe of the world. Above this are images of Victoria’s indigenous flora and fauna, and a boy with a clamshell. Holding all of this aloft are four merpeople rising up from the waters of the lower pool.

Fountation 3 (1 of 1).jpg

Fountation 2 (1 of 1).jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now