Photographing the city of Saint-Malo

As some of you know, I am very active on Instagram! Often I go out to Instagram meetings to meet and photograph with other people. It's a great way to make new friends and build your network.

Just before I left to France I heard of a couple of Instagram buddy's that they where going to Brittany to. There plans where to shoot the city of Saint-Malo. So I decided to changed my plans and didn't visit the city on my own but waited for my insta buddies to join them for a photographic tour in the city.

Because taking pictures with friends is way more fun and you also learn a lot by looking how other photographers shoot!

My goal this trip was to do some street photography. Trying to take pictures of the people in the street. I always find that very difficult to do because I am not a good people photographer, so I made it a learning trip.

the people of Saint-Malo
Here are a view of the people I photographed. I also have the pictures in black and white but I will save them for a separate post. I already have to many pictures for this post!

Sunset at the harbor
As sunset came closer we headed up to the harbor of the city. The guys wanted to make a drone picture of the city during sunset. Especially above the harbor wall. It stretched out in to the sea a couple of hundred meters. Standing on the harbor wall, we had a nice view of the city, and the golden hour made it very special.

Netflix
Trough uit the whole day that we where there, we continuesly heard a helicopter fly over the city. At sunset he also thought that the harbor would be a nice place to fly. It was cool to see but a little anoing at that time. There was a big camera rig underneath the helicopter and after one Google search I saw that the helicopter was making videos of the city for a Netflix documentary. So if all is well, i am going to be on Netflix soon😁

Night shoot
Sunset was very nice and the location was pretty awesome too. On the way back we took the route trough the city. In the evening the city is pretty quiet and it was nice to try some night photography. Normally if I am out photographing I often use a tripod to do longexposures or its just daytime so my ISO is always very low. This night shoot I was struggling to get my exposure wright. My camera came out in 2017 so the noise at high ISO is significant, that's why I wanted to have my ISO as low s possible. But at home I saw many failed pictures, not sharp because of low aperture and movement. It was a good lesson for me to even push the ISO even more. Because movement can't be fixed in photoshop, noise can be fixed. Nevertheless, here are some pictures that are showeble.

Thank you so much for watching and please leave a comment. I am very curious if you like posts like this. And if you would be so kind to look at all my other cosial accounts here I can use the support very much πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™β€οΈ

And here are the Instagram accounts of my friend, Olivier, Joris and Coen.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center