Long exposures at Omaha beach France, Mulberry harbour!

Hello photo lovers.

In one of my trip trough Normandy France I stopped at the village of Arromanches-les-Bains. It probably doesn't say anything to you but it was located on Omaha beach, one of the invasion beaches of D-day in WW2. On this specific location the have build a complet harbor days after
D-day, and they called it Mulberry harbour.

I specifically wanted to go to this location because I wanted to make pictures of WW2 war relics. Especially bunkers of the Atlantic wall and museums. And when I learned about this place, I immediately thought of making long exposure pictures of these objects in the sea.

The Mulberry harbor was a temporary portable harbour developed by the British army and War Office. They needed a port in front of the coast of France were they could unload all kinds of materials and equipment that was needed for the invasion of Europe. They started developing these pontoons for the harbor in 1942. It was a big secret of course and within a year they had the complete harbor ready.

Now a day's parts of these constructions are still there. It's an overwhelming sight when you arrive there.

This is a panorama from the top of the cliffs were the camper parking was located. From here you see the old harbor for the first time, and that is very impressive. On the right you have the town of Arromanches-les-Bains.

IMG_8538-Pano.jpg

From the parking it's a steep walk down to the beach. I was on my bike and I was down within five minutes. Back up was very very hard 😅

IMG_8711.jpg

Perfect reflection conditions in the out going tide.

IMG_8700.jpg

It is hard to imagine what has happened on these beaches.

IMG_8696.jpg

It was a very cloudy evening with no good light at sunset. The movements of the clouds in long exposure are always very nice to see.

IMG_8714.jpg

IMG_8708-2.jpg

It was time for blue hour. It immediately is a totally different atmosphere in these pictures.

IMG_8726-2.jpg

IMG_8585.jpg

IMG_8558.jpg

IMG_8545-3.jpg

And then there was a little opening in the cloud deck so I had a little of an afterglow from the sunset.

IMG_8603-2.jpg

Thank you for reading my post! And if you want to see all the places I have ever been to, just click on my Travelfeed profile!

And if you want to follow my daily life, I often post stories and pictures off all the tings I do in life on my Instagram account!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center