Conducting a photo shoot for a young athlete

Creating captivating photos is an obligation for a photographer. Sometimes, we also need to come up with new concepts to grab the attention of clients so that they are interested in hiring us as their photographer. My own jobs often come from my friend, who is also a makeup artist. Frankly, my photo session rates are relatively high compared to other photographers in my city.

However, I stick to my service fees as a photographer because, in my opinion, working in this field requires a considerable investment, starting from the camera, lenses, lighting, and other invaluable costs such as the experience and mentoring programs I've attended, not to mention the value of an idea for a concept.

As I mentioned earlier, I mostly get clients from my friend who is also a makeup artist. This time, I got a job to do a photo shoot with a sports concept. The photo shoot took place in a studio. The concept of this shoot was chosen by the client themselves, who desired a dark mood concept. The mood board had been prepared by my client long before the photo session, and my role was to further develop some poses that I thought would suit my client.

A little background about my client, they are an athlete, still quite young, maybe around 14 years old. However, they have a tall stature for their age. They are a swimmer and also play volleyball, so for this photo session, we used two costumes. The first was their volleyball uniform, and the second was their swimsuit.

And here are the results of the photos:

GIIN4372.jpg

GIIN4388.jpg

GIIN4394.jpg

GIIN4344.jpg

GIIN4359.jpg

GIIN4426.jpg

GIIN4439.jpg

GIIN4446.jpg

GIIN4456.jpg

Speaking technically, I believe there were still many shortcomings during this photo session due to the limitations of the equipment used in the studio. However, when comparing the results to the predetermined mood board set by the client, the photos were in line with the mood board. Most importantly, the client liked the results.

The most challenging aspect was directing the poses, as the client I photographed was still quite young, making it difficult for them to pose freely. Additionally, the client's mood fluctuated during the lengthy photo session, which required changing into various outfits and left them feeling tired.

Nevertheless, their parents appreciated the results I provided.

Thank you to my friends in the photography lovers community who stopped by my post. Don't forget to always support the work of other photographers, so they can continue to share their creations in this beloved community.

Warm regards from me.
GIIN4526.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now