Back in time to 1887

Look back over the past, with its changing empires that rose and fell, and you can foresee the future, too.

- Marcus Aurelius -

watch (3).png


I only ever met my maternal grandfather as my dad's father died before I was born. It's probably understandable that it's difficult to feel a connection to dad's father however I feel a great connection to mum's dad gained through the experiences I had with him and then the memories that carried forward.

He was a great man, polite and generous, good with his hands and mind, an excellent musician, hard-working and he had a great sense of humour...a cheeky nature at times...Hmm, that sort of sums me up too I guess, along with other things. I miss my grandfather for many reasons and often wish he was here to speak with; he was a wise man and I know I'd benefit from a chat with him sometimes.

Like he was, I'm a sentimental man. I find value in the past and in knowing where I came from, and from whom. I've traced my ancestry back a long way and feel more complete for it, and I've also gone out of my way to retain items that help bridge time; this watch is one such item.

watch (2).png

This was my grandfather's watch and his father's before.

Made in 1887, one hundred and thirty six years ago, it was originally owned by my great grandfather; I'm not sure at what point it was handed to his son, my grandfather, but considering he was born in 1902 I assume years later, maybe in the early 1920's when my great grandfather passed away. Both of them used it daily to tell the time, and I can only wonder at how many times it was taken out of a pocket, flipped open, and looked at then snapped closed and stowed in the pocket once more.

These days when I hold it in my hand and do the very same thing I feel connected across the years to my grandfather and his father and it feels good, sort of like I'm perpetuating their lives, carrying the flame that they, and those that came before them, ignited.

watch (6).png

It still works, I made sure of that by having it restored and made operational several years ago. I don't use it daily of course, it sits in a box in one of my safes. I take it out now and then to look at and it's at those times I think about my ancestors, all of the things they did, the places they went, all of which culminate in me. And I miss my grandfather at that time more than ever and wish he was here.

Time only moves forward though, and no matter how much I wish for a time machine one has yet to present itself.

watch (1).png

When I think about my ancestors I often wonder if they ever thought-forward and wondered what their future-family members might be like, what they would do and where they would go. I wonder if they'd look upon me now and be happy with who I am.

I do this with @mrbonkers and @smallsteps, my little niece and nephew, all the time. They're great little people and I love them a lot but I'll not live to see their lives play out; that's the nature of time...at some stage it ends for humans. We all die. I think about what their lives will be like though.

watch (4).png

I like to think those two little people will someday grow up and think about those who came before them and appreciate the lives they led which, ultimately, led them to their own lives.

With that in mind I have some keepsakes for them, items that their ancestors once owned, valued and used and this pocket watch is one such item.

I believe it's my duty to keep such things, to understand the people who owned and used them and the stories behind them, that I many pass them on to those who will next take up the flame handed to them and carry it forward on behalf of, and just like, those that came before them.

watch (8).png

This is the first time I've photographed this pocket watch and I think they came out ok considering I'm not a very good photographer. I had a good time doing the photos...Get it? a good time. Ok, that wasn't a very good joke, sorry. If my niece and nephew ever read this post I hope they forgive me for that one.

watch (5).png

When I finished up I polished the watch with a silver cloth and boxed it back up and stowed it in the safe.

I wish I had my grandfather here as I'd like to know more about it, to hear some stories about his early days and about my great grandfather; I know many, but only a fraction of the lives they led and that makes me sad. I think it's interesting that people don't often seem to care about their ancestry until it's too late to ask those who came before them and were there in the past. It's an opportunity lost to discover a little more about people whose lives helped shape our own. I find that sad really.

dfgt.png


Thanks for taking a look at this post, and if you actually read it feel free to make some comments below. Maybe you'd like to tell me about a family heirloom or keepsake you have from your own ancestors or something of your own you'd like to hand on. Feel free to comment below.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default; tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind - galenkp

[All original and proudly AI free.]

Every image in this post is my own.
Olympus OM-D E-M10 Mark III was used to capture these images.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center