Scarlet Robes Underneath a Chandelier

1.JPG

Pretentious sips, yes, peach, floral notes, wow this cheese pairs so well with the wine and so on. Drinking wine is the art of suspension. Set to the side memories and conform to the bottle's description. Sometimes I tease the tasting personal (wine sommelier) by stating that I do not get a note of peach or a hint of freshly cut grass. For me, as a philosopher, I like to challenge these rigid assumptions. Taste is linked to memory, for me, and these "objective" notes of taste and smell do not always sit right with me. Hence the little teasing comments I sometimes make. But in any case, wine is something I really like and these wine tastings offer a great experience for those who like drinking wine.

Me and @urban.scout had the opportunity to break away for a while at a wine estate. We stayed for the night and drank too much expensive wine for our own liking. But we can cease to exist so quickly so why not enjoy things a bit? I took the opportunity to take some photographs of the tasting room. It is situated inside the home of the owner, it is really magical. We tasted their premium wines paired with some cheeses as well. Please enjoy the photographs of this moment that I tried to capture.


_DSC5271.JPG

_DSC5277.JPG

_DSC5240.JPG

_DSC5245.JPG

_DSC5248.JPG

_DSC5256.JPG

_DSC5266.JPG

_DSC5272.JPG

_DSC5283.JPG


Postscriptum

We grabbed a bottle of wine. We opened it. We drank from it like we were kids anew. We wrote poetry drunk on each other. The rain came down from the heavens with vengeance. We did not leave the room. We drank more wine. And more. We wrote poetry, drunk poetry, and draw drunk sketches. All the while we forgot about the busy life out there. We needed the breakaway.

_DSC5288.JPG

I hope you enjoyed these photographs of the tasting room. It is really beautiful. In this week I will make a post about the venue itself. It was so beautiful and you should really go there if you ever find yourself in South Africa and in the wine route area.

For now, please stay safe and happy photographing!

The musings are my own, albeit inspired by a smallish hangover. The photographs are my own taken with my Nikon D300 and 18-70mm lens.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center