"Don't Talk With a Mouth Full of Food" - A Series of Bird Photographs

1.JPG


my mother used to hit me
as I talked with my mouth full of food
not hard
but just as a reminder
that I needed to have manners
to survive in this crazy world
that lacks any sympathy


Time after time, I have confirmed my own hypothesis that photography combines various things including luck. I was lucky to be in the right spot, this little bird jumped up onto the wooden fence next to me. Out of pure luck, I had my camera ready because I took photographs of something totally different. I managed to turn around very slowly, and there was this little female Cape rock thrush (Monticola rupestris) with a freshly caught bug in her mouth. I could not plan this in any way. And nothing warned me. I was just there with my camera, in the right spot, at the right time. Luck sometimes knocks on my door, but not always.

I am very glad that I was blessed with such a lucky situation. I managed to push the shutter at the right time. My autofocus locked onto the bird perfectly, and the lighting was just right. The golden hue or golden feathers on her shimmered perfectly and so beautifully. This is the first time that I photographed this particular thrush, which makes it even more special.

Before I ramble on and on about luck and photography, please first enjoy this series of photographs of the Cape rock thrush having a snack!


Don't Talk With a Mouth Full of Food


2.JPG

3.JPG

4.JPG

5.JPG

6.JPG

7.JPG

8.JPG

9.JPG

10.JPG

11.JPG

12.JPG

Postscriptum, or the Lucky Photographer

I am lucky to have the current camera I own. I saw an ad for a second-hand Nikon D300, with some lenses, a battery grip, and other things. The price then was pricey, and a gamble as the ad was on a website with scammers. That was in 2010/2011. My dad even drove 100km for me to get it. I am still using that camera today. It was way past its guaranteed shutter count, and I have neglected to service it. So I am just lucky all around. I also bought my Tamron 300mm lens as a total newbie to photography in 2011, and here I am still using it down the line, after all those years.

I am just so lucky in so many terms and this is reflected in my photography as well. I am sometimes in the right place without my camera, but like in this series of photographs I was in the right place. Luck. I just pushed the shutter.

I digress. I was actually lucky that this little bird blessed me with its presence. It is such a beautiful bird. From its beak shape, I knew it was a thrush. But I have never seen this species before. Only after some googling, I found out that this is the female bird. I would never have guessed this as she was so beautiful. Usually, the female is kind of pale and greyish in colour. However, the female of this species of thrush is just as beautiful! She blessed me with her feathers, her hunting skills, and just her overall beauty!

I hope that you enjoyed this series of photographs of this beautiful thrush bird!

For now, happy photographing and keep safe.

All of the photographs used in this post are my own, taken with my Nikon D300 and Tamron 300mm zoom lens. The writings and musings are also my own.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now