Winter

Last week I went to do a photo shoot as one day was snowing. I believe it was exactly a week ago. We haven't had much snow this winter, so when the opportunity knocks on the door, I know it could be the only occasion, so I need to act fast and that's what I did. I went out to capture some beautiful moments, that lasted for a couple of hours, then most of the snow melted. There was a lot o slush after, which then became ice.

This week we have winter I could say, as temperatures have dropped to -12°C at night and it's a bit cold. I'm still not complaining as this is what winter supposed to be and even though there's -10°C when I leave in the morning, it's not the end of the world. However, on the northern parts, the ice is significant, so you need to mind your steps, otherwise gravity can put you to the ground and you may end up at the emergency room with some broken bones.

20230201_115559a.jpg

Although I wasn't the first visitor in the park that day, I was able to find a few places where the snow was untouched. I love fresh snow, which has no foot marks yet, but for that, you have to get there very early.

I saw this bench covered with snow and loved the scene. No one sat there yet. Are you surprised? I was not :)

20230201_115658a.jpg

Actually the whole thing was funny. The fresh snow looked like a nice cover, like what you have at home on your sofa.

20230201_115709a.jpg

I hope one day I'm going to have the chance to shoot some nice snowy scenes, but for that I suppose I need to go up to the mountains as the chances for some decent snow to happen here are slim to none.

20230201_115811a.jpg

This was another funny scene. The snow was quite thick, basically inviting you to plunge into the snow. We used to do that when we were kids, but not in this place. We had our own playground and we knew every inch of it even with our eyes shot, so there was no danger of hurting ourselves there. I know this place as well, so I know there are bushes beneath the snow, so you would definitely hurt yourself while plunging here.

20230201_115833a.jpg

Rose bushes were also covered by snow, which could be a good thing as snow protects the plants, but who knows. They say roses are sensitive, which may be true. But these are outside every single winter and survive anyway, regardless of the temperature.

20230201_115853a.jpg

Another bench nicely cushioned with a thick layer of snow.

20230201_120457a.jpg

And the melting show, that looked like ice as it was so wet.

20230201_120501a.jpg

20230201_115505a.jpg

It's not much, but this may have been the last snow of the season. The majority of it is melted already, there are spots here and there, especially in northern places, but that's all. Obviously there's no way to know now, but in my opinion, this is the winter we're getting. A couple of days of snow and one week of cold, instead of 2 or 3 months of snow accompanied by cold. Well, times are changing and so are we. We're adapting.

Life is short, make the most of it. Take action when it's time, otherwise you may miss it. Last year I had the chance to take some nice photos of individual snowflakes. This winter I was hoping I can repeat the photo shoot, but there was no occasion for that yet. This snow was wet and there were no nice snowflakes. Life is like that.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center