Tree frog on a palm

This tree frog is actually not my main subject that I want to get that day, because it was already a dry season, I never though that I will find this guy around because everything here is so hot and dry, and the chance on finding this frog which is usually associated with damp and wet area were slim.

but overall this was a nice finding not only because the rare occasion, but I don't really have many photos of amphibian before, so it was such a great chance for me to get the shot.

But with that come a little bit of a problem, and it was more because of the gear that I have to take the macro photos. Currently I am using an Olympus camera, with a few extension tube and a fix 50 mm lens, and with that I am on a fix magnifications as well as a fix working distance. And with this gear, I need to get quite close to the subject.

and for that reason I could not get the full body of this treefrog, and because this frog was resting upright, so my selection of angle were also limited.

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

I could not get a landscape orientation for this kind shot because the top of my flash diffuser bumped into the palm tree that this frog was resting on. Maybe I can get a different perspective, and also I could admire its eyes from the landscape orientation. but you know, I should be grateful for what I have, while also trying to save up to buy a real macro lens, which is quite pricey. : )

separator2.png

But these few last shots of the frog were my favorite because I can still see the eye of the frog, while also getting a little bit of light broken in the background.
I hope you like these ones also.

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

Photo StyleMacro PhotographyAccesory50 mm Canon lens + Adapter + Extension Tube
LocationBali, IndonesiaLightingExternal Flash
GearOlympus OMD Em5 Mark iiDiffuserCekrek Diffuser


I am a Balinese man, a father of a toddler son, working in the hospitality industry, who has recently found a passion for macro photography. I want to share the photos that I've taken here on Hive. I appreciate any comments or feedback you leave on my posts and kindly invite you to be part of my journey in this vast Hive Ocean. Thank you very much
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center