Sceliphron curvatum, a curvy wasp

This wasp is a little bit hard to photograph, and most of the time they are really shy and will fly away from me. I hardly see them staying around in one place long enough. But I do see a lot of their nest in the area.

The wasp is called *Sceliphron curvatum or Asian mud-dauber wasp, is an insect in the genus Sceliphron of the wasp family Sphecidae, it is because the way they build the nest using mud.

I hope one day I can see them building the nest since it will be awesome to observe. But this time I have an adult wasp that is already at the end of its life (dead)

separator2.png

It has a yellow, black, and reddish color on its body. The fine hairs can also be seen all over its body, long antennae are also spotted.

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

But then look at the difference in the waist part of this wasp and also the abdomen. The waist is so small, while the abdomen is massive. I think it is the reason it gets the curvatum on its name. haha
In nature, you have a competitive competitor for the ladies who want to have a curvy body.

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

Photo StyleMacro PhotographyAccesoryMeike Extention Tube
LocationBali, IndonesiaLightingExternal Flash
GearCanon EOS Kiss X8iDiffuserCekrek Diffuser


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center