Dysdercus - the cotton stainer

Well although the name of this insect has cotton in it, I found this little guy so far away from any cotton plantation. In fact, I found this guy in an abandoned area behind my parent's house during my recent photowalk.

I really love the bright orange-reddish color of this bug, a bug that most likely come from the Dysdercus Genus. Dysdercus is a widespread genus of true bugs in the family Pyrrhocoridae; a number of species attacking cotton bolls may be called "cotton stainers"..

It got its name because of the way it became the pest for the cotton plantation, by eating the young seed of the cotton, and then leaving the red stain on the cotton, making it unuseful for the cotton industry.

separator2.png

I love the color combination of this bug, with black color legs, and bright orange-red color, and come black marking on the tip of its wings.

separator2.png

separator2.png

Here you can see the size comparison of this bug, and half of of my finger.

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

Photo StyleMacro PhotographyAccesory50 mm Canon lens + Adapter +
LocationBali, IndonesiaLightingexternal Flash
GearOlympus OMD Em5 Mark iiDiffuserCekrek Diffuser


I am a Balinese man, a father of a toddler son, working in the hospitality industry, who has recently found a passion for macro photography. I want to share the photos that I've taken here on Hive. I appreciate any comments or feedback you leave on my posts and kindly invite you to be part of my journey in this vast Hive Ocean. Thank you very much
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center