Knowing how to pose, being directed / Saber posar, ser dirigido

Last week, I did this photo shoot for an online jean store. The model you see here is a girl who enjoys working out, very nice and proactive. I didn't really have great creative freedom on it as we had to shoot a large amount of jeens and the model's time was tight. But, I found it very curious that she was the type of model who is not very clear on how to interpret the directions but radically contrary to what happens to me with this type of person if she knows how to pose and look good.

La semana pasada, realicé esta sesión de fotos para una tienda virtual de jeens. La modelo que ven aquí presente es una chica que disfruta del ejercicio, muy agradable y proactiva. No tuve realmente gran libertad creativa en ello ya que teníamos que fotografiar una gran cantidad de jeens y el tiempo de la modelo era reducido. Pero, me pareció muy curioso que era el tipo de modelo que no tiene muy claro cómo interpretar las indicaciones pero radicalmente contrario a lo que me ocurre con este tipo de personas si sabe posar y verse bien.

20220525 (10).jpg

20220525 (28).jpg

20220525 (17).jpg

This made me think a little bit about myself. Since, regularly I don't like the pictures that other people take of me but I like the pictures that I take of myself. And a big part of my conflict with that is that when someone else takes my picture they don't direct me the way I expect them to, but of course, I realize with this that I really don't know how to pose from a blind starting point. Quite the opposite of this girl who doesn't know how to be directed but without knowing what I see through the viewfinder she knows how to pose and give her best angle.

Esto me hizo reflexionar un poco en mi. Ya que, regularmente no me gustan las fotos que me toman los demás pero si las fotos que me tomo yo. Y gran parte de mi conflicto con ello es que cuando otro me toma fotos no me dirige como yo lo espero, pero claro, me doy cuenta con esto que realmente no se como posar desde un punto de partida ciego. Todo lo contrario a esta chica que no sabe ser dirigida pero sin saber qué es lo que veo por el visor sabe posar y dar su mejor ángulo.

20220525 (41).jpg

20220525 (38).jpg

20220525 (42).jpg

20220525 (46).jpg

20220525 (67).jpg

20220525 (53).jpg

I guess the point this experience brings me to is: you have to be a bit of both to make the pose work, you have to know how to pose and be directed.

Creo que al punto al que me lleva esta experiencia es: hay que ser un poco de ambos para que la pose funcione, tienes que saber posar y ser dirigido.

20220525 (65).jpg

20220525 (66).jpg

Photographer: Diego Aquiles

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now