A Helipad and a Plaza Altamira ESP/ENG

When I took these photos, I didn’t have my Canon D5 or my 14mm lens. I got that equipment shortly after the session, but overall, this photo shoot was quite long with many stops. Two of those stops were at the Meliá Hotel in Caracas, which has a helipad, and another at Plaza Altamira.

Para el momento en que hice estas fotografías, no tenía mi Canon D5 ni mi lente de 14 mm. Estos equipos llegaron poco tiempo después de hacerlas, pero a grandes rasgos, esta sesión de fotos fue bastante larga y con muchas paradas, y estas fueron dos de ellas: una en el Hotel Meliá de Caracas, que tiene un helipuerto, y otra en la Plaza Altamira.

20220305  (59).jpg

20220305  (50) (1).jpg

20220305  (47).jpg

The chair I decided to use on the helipad was sitting in a hallway at the hotel, but, as is typical of me, I decided to grab it for the shoot. Whenever I get an idea like this, I prefer to ask for forgiveness rather than permission. In this case, it worked out, but I remember how funny it was to see everyone looking at me with that "maybe you shouldn’t be doing that" kind of expression. I guess I did it with such confidence that nobody said anything. And when the hotel staff arrived, they didn’t say anything either, so I guess it was allowed. But if I had asked for permission, it would have taken longer to do, so sometimes it’s better to ask for forgiveness.

La silla que decidí usar en el helipuerto estaba en un pasillo del hotel, pero como es común en mí, se me ocurrió agarrarla para usarla. Siempre que tengo una idea así, prefiero pedir perdón en vez de pedir permiso. En este caso salió bien, pero recuerdo que fue gracioso ver las miradas de todos, como diciendo "tal vez esto no se pueda hacer". Supongo que lo hice con tanta seguridad que nadie me dijo nada, y cuando llegó el personal del hotel, tampoco me dijeron nada, así que supongo que sí estaba permitido. Pero si hubiese pedido permiso, habría tardado más en hacerlo, así que a veces es mejor pedir perdón.

20220305  (91).jpg

20220305  (95).jpg

In general, I really liked this session, but unfortunately, I didn’t end things on good terms with the client because there was some confusion about the delivery. It was the kind of client where, if one thing goes wrong, everything is wrong. It’s a shame, but no one’s perfect, and neither am I.

Esta sesión, en general, me gustó mucho, pero lamentablemente no terminé en buenos términos con el cliente porque hubo una confusión relacionada con la entrega. Era uno de esos clientes que si algo no le gusta, todo sale mal. Es una lástima, pero nadie es perfecto, yo tampoco.

Photographer: Diego Aquiles

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center