Abandoned train station in east germany

Abandoned houses, properties, ruins or basically every
other old building always fascinated me to the point where
I wanted to know the history of it. And if there was none,
I found joy in speculating and theorising about what might have happened in the past years/decades.
So when I spent some time in Potsdam I came along this abandoned train station near my dorm while exploring the neighborhood. To be fair - there is no cool story to be told about this perticular station, at least none that I'd be aware of. I just love the asthestics of the slow decay of the urban environment and how fast nature is trying to get it back.
dsc_0023.jpg

|
dsc_0033.jpg

Graffitti is an interesting topic, because I think it's beautiful to see that these places get some last value for the people to express themeselves through art and it revives the otherwise dead concrete. There is of course a fine line between Art and Vandalism, but the beauty of abandoned buildings is - as long as they're not historical - that noone really cares.

dsc_0042.jpg

dsc_0051.jpg

dsc_0061.jpg

I love the apocalyptic feeling these places tend to give me. Sometimes you get a glimpse of the past to fuel your imagination.

dsc_0038.jpg

dsc_0041.jpg

dsc_0028.jpg

The new station is located like 200 meters further away on another track away, but the old tracks are still being used today. It used to be a industrial area but after the 2. world war it disappeared. It was no longer needed so a new one was built.

dsc_0031.jpg

dsc_0057.jpg

dsc_0064.jpg

On the last picture you can see the new one just below the abandoned one. If you like this post, tell me if you want to see more of my adventures :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center