My story raising two little squirrels (part one)

I hope everyone is very well and that you had a great weekend, today I will share with the hive community a very beautiful story that happened to me about two years ago.

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-05 at 7.31.31 PM.jpeg

It all started one day in May 2020, I had recently turned 18. That day was like that of all the people in my country, confined to their homes due to the covid 19 pandemic, the difference compared to many is that I live on a farm, so the confinement did not make it so difficult for me. At that time there was a banana harvest, so the workers had to go to the mountains, cut the bunches and bring them to store to later sell them, some squirrels usually make their nests in the banana bunches, which means that having harvested these are cut down and their young die in the fall, but this was not the case. A worker had cut a bunch of bananas and saw that there was a squirrel nest on top of it, many workers usually throw the nest away so that the young die, but he did not do this, what he did was bring the nest to my mother and me.

When we saw the nest it was round and full of straw, inside it there were two little squirrels that had no hair at all and their eyes were unopened, they were too small. That same day we decided to raise these little creatures, so for my part I began to investigate how a squirrel was raised and the results were not very encouraging, apparently not many survive without their mother's milk and if they are not stimulated for them to urinate and defecate, not to mention that these, having no hair, needed constant heat. Reading this I got to work and with the help of my mom, we were able to make a nest in a small tray and some woolen rags, we also got a small dropper to give them milk, this because at that time their nose was so small It was very close to their mouth, so they were at risk of drowning if we used a bottle, since they needed stimulation to relieve themselves, I bought a pack of cotton balls and finally a hair dryer to heat the woolen clothes.

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-05 at 7.30.35 PM.jpeg

Soon I will upload the next part, where I hope to finish the story and upload the photos of them when they become adults.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center