Seasons are changing and I am getting some mushrooms in my yard


yard-9399.jpg

Fertile Soil

break.png

The leaves are beginning to fall off the trees near my home and the weather is getting colder. Last night, it rained quite a bit, but up in the mountains, it was snowing pretty much all night long. When I went outside to check my wildflowers, I noticed that there are a lot of mushrooms popping up in my front yard now.


yard-9396.jpg

I haven't ever had mushrooms growing in my front yard, so it was pretty cool to see that the soil in my front yard is a lot more fertile this year than it has been in previous years. My back gets mushrooms all the time and I think that is from a combination of the birds that live in the trees in my back shitting all over the yard and my dogs adding their shit all over the place as well. My backyard is still very green while most people's lawns are starting to yellow as the seasons change. So I guess a little shit in the soil is good for it.


yard-9406.jpg

This wildflower plant is sprouting new flowers everyday. It is weird how this plant waited until the end of the season to begin sprouting buds. I came so close to pulling all of the plants like this, but now I am glad that I didn't because the flowers are so cool and there are so many of them.


yard-9407.jpg

The rest of the flowers are all dying and they look pretty cool as they die. I am waiting for them to lose all of their color before I cut the heads off and break them up around the yard in hopes of the seeds taking root and returning next year.


yard-9408.jpg

I am trying to decide what to do with the actual body of the plants. I've thought about chopping them down and mulching them with my lawnmower to give some more nutrients to the soil, but I have heard that if you do that, it is best to wait until spring because there may be some pollinators in the plants sleeping. But I dont think that they will survive the winter when the snow gets a few feet deep and covers all these plants.


yard-9409.jpg


yard-9410.jpg


yard-9411.jpg

It is going to be sad when the flowers are all dead for the season, but these plants are going to continue to add more and more nutrients for my soil. I wouldn't be surprised if I have a bunch of mushrooms all over the place next spring when the snow melts off.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center