The Flower Trend This Season

ARE THEY ARE OVER RATED PLUS A STORY TIME

Macro at its finest with these flowers.. So the latest trend in my community is "Flowers". And people locally are eating it up so much they are just shooting pics of flowers to just shoot them. Some people are adding horrible photos to their portfolio just to be able to jump on this trend.

_DSC0790_2 (3).jpg
Iso 160 • 87mm • F8.0 • 1/250s

The sunflower above was taken last season. This photo was shared over 300 times last year on my business page. It has incredible composition, lighting, and color grading.

The local community this season went out to that same farm and had a group shoot lol.. They posted their pics and I about died laughing and I'm not trying to be mean but it really seemed like they were all out there just snapping not even pausing to think about composition, angles, or creativity. It got worse with their editing!

DSC_0883 (2).jpg
Iso 220 • 450mm • F6.3 • 1/1000s

This Hibiscus I took several years back at a local garden. I was in the midst of learning macro!

But back to my storytime! So the local group on Facebook does a monthly cover contest. I won last months contest and it was posted anonymously by the admin the submissions. Rightfully so won it as it was legit the best pic and it leveled the playing field with popularity. I won that by a landslide... 26 votes for mine and the next highest was 9. I was actually blocked by another local photographer because theirs didn't win.

This month, his theme was "Flowers". I submitted and the admin went in and liked everyones submission essentially giving everyone a vote. Well this is where it gets fucked up!! I was in the lead again. He removed my vote and commented on another submission that he wanted them to win.

DSC_0783 (2).jpg
Iso 640 • 450mm • F6 3 • 1/1000s

^^ IS THE PHOTO I SUBMITTED. It is still my very very earlier work. Again, it was in the lead and now tied... because the admin decided he wanted to play favorites. I understand that winning cover time and time again probably isnt the best for the community but..... there is no need to remove a vote because you want someone else to win! Thats shady af.

DSC_0728 (2).jpg
Iso 200 • 105mm • F7.1 • 1/500s

This is another creative one from that same farm 2 seasons ago. So, I've realistically been shooting there for a few years now and all of a sudden a group just decided to be like "Hey let's shoot at the same place". I have backed away from group events as its evident they can't be original..

DSC_0089_1.jpg
Iso 640 • 82mm • F5.6 • 1/100s

This is the last flower pic I'm attaching to this post.

PLEASE DON'T GET ME WRONG FLOWER PHOTOS ARE GREAT AND ALSO A GREAT WAY TO LEARN COMPOSITION AND SETTINGS. I WILL SUPPORT YOUR FLOWER PHOTOS BUT... I WON'T SUPPORT THE LOCALS.

THESE ARE ALL OLDER PHOTOS WHEN I WAS STILL USING MY NIKON

I'm just a little salty. But enjoy these timeless beauties!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments