The Aurora Light Show..

untitled-01850-Edit.jpg

I was sat watching the local evening news last night and Keeley Donovan stated there was a chance of seeing the Aurora this evening, I am think to myself I wonder what time that will be, within 30 mins of that one of my friends made a post on facebook stating that the Aurora had already started, even though it wasn't fully dark yet.

I popped into the garden but couldn't see much with the naked eye, held my phone up, BANG!! it was there.

untitled-01848.jpg

We headed out in a rush to a darker area, which is roughly 5-10 mins from where we live, we headed up to Penny Hll, where the windfarm is, we parked up and started to take shots and admire the night sky, with a half moon behind us, that was a spectacular sight as it was, but the aurora, well what more can I say.

I was taking shots, but wasn't feeling it, comparing the shots to the last time where I had a windmill as a foreground, I'd not been very well these past few days, and didn't want drive too far as I was knackered, still going dizzy and my back is still poorly lol. I feel like I'm 90 not 49 lol.

I thought of a shot looking down the road towards the Aurora, so avoiding boy racers speeding up and down the road, I got the shot, which I am more than happy with, thee colours are beautiful.

The issue I had in previous shots was the long hedgerows.

untitled-01838-Edit.jpg

I love the simplicity of the above shot, again, the wonderful colours of the night sky and the what I call the PIllars Of The Cosmos.

The road started to get a bit busy and the cars were starting to do my head in, so we headed home, had some toast and a cup of tea, we then went into the garden and it started to kick off again, so headed up the top of the road, I did a timelapse of the aurora, 30 mins shooting for 6 seconds of film lol. Still great to see.

untitled-02055.jpg

Nothing much to this shot, it was mainly a shot to shot what city folk maybe missing, as this was shot looking over Sheffield, with all the light pollution, would they have been able to see what we were seeing? I have no idea.

I can't believe I've seen the Aurora twice in a year, I'm more than happy with this, I don't think my shots are on par with my previous one, but again, I'm still more than happy with them.

Please let me know what you think.

Thanks for reading,

All the best :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center