First Adventure After Covid.

So having had covid, I am a bit short of material to post, thankfully other than one day of coughing up blood, I have now made a full recovery.

I'm back at work but have a few days off, I decided to go and visit an old friend, North Leverton windmill.
I love this place, it really is just like stepping back in time, I really wish there was more windmills around, and can only imagine what a lovely site it would be to see how it was in the old days with mills as far as the eyes can see.

I thought this time round, I would have a go at shooting some video, I really do love the camera on the DJI mini 3 pro, it is a worthy upgrade over my old Mini 2.

As I was there, the farmer (who does the milling, and I think owns the mill) started talking to me, even though the mill is usually only open to the public on Saturdays, he offered to let me in for a look around the mill, which I jumped at the chance.

I even managed to get in to the cap at the top of the windmill.

As I was talking to the farmer, he was saying that other than the power stations that are in the distance the view hasn't really changed much in the last 200 years.

The mill was built in 1813 by a group of farmers and has since milled since then, originally the mill was shorter but a refit made it taller to use different sales.


(The view as it almost looked 200 years ago).

The view of the past with the polluting modern power station (cottam power station) in the background.

I really hope you've enjoyed this post, I have a fair few days off work next week so hoping to get some more adventuring done then.

Thanks for reading my blog,

All the best :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now