Finally, I got inside the windmill!

untitled_7648_edit.jpg

Having visited North Leverton Windmill earlier in the week, I really wanted to go back and have a look inside, I saw a sign stating that it was open on Saturdays, so I jumped at the chance of finally getting inside the mill.

untitled_7615.jpg

As soon as I parked the car up, I looked down the driveway and thought "shit!!", as you can see there's some work being carried out on the mill. My worst thought was "trust me to pick a weekend when the mill is closed!".

untitled_7616.jpg

There's a man up there somewhere.

Anyhow, my worst fears were quickly dampened when we saw people there, the mill was still open, and the work being done was a new paint job, although the man (with the coolest job ever!), had to rub down the old paintwork before the new paint could be added, which I think, on something at this size would be a major task.

untitled_7617.jpg

The visitors centre is so cool, you can even grind your own flour etc, well worth going inside and having a good look.

img_8366.jpg

The above picture was created by Michael J. Taylor, back in 1976/77 - 2 years before I was born. I love this, it kind of reminds me of an old Haynes car manual lol.

untitled_7624.jpg

My first look inside the windmill, it's not like what I imagined, but saying that, I'd never seen inside one of these before, so I'm not sure exactly what I would see.

untitled_7630.jpg

I like this shot as the sail kind of points to the old power station at West Burton, the windmill has two power stations at either side of it, West Burton and Cottam power station, it has also outlived these, as they are old coal power ones that have been closed down now, although there are new buildings on site which are now gas powered.

north_leverton_0413.jpg

Looking over to Cottam power station.

untitled_7631.jpg

untitled_7644.jpg

untitled_7641.jpg

untitled_7642.jpg

It was great to get inside the mill finally, and you can tell it's a working mill, cobwebs are over parts of the mill and flour everywhere too, it's been milling for 200 years or so, and is in great condition for it's age. I doubt any modern buildings would last this long.

untitled_7649_edit.jpg

untitled_7622.jpg

untitled_7653.jpg

I really hope you've enjoyed this post, majority of the shots was done using a Sony A7iii and a Samyang 14mm F/2.8 lens, the odd shot was done using Apple iPhone XR and my DJI Mini 2 drone.

img_8364.jpg

You can also buy flour and porridge of what has been milled, this big bag was only £2.40 (if I remember right), which certainly is a good buy!

Thanks again for reading.

All the best :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center