Failures of an Astrophotographer - Comet Hunting!

One thing I have notice is that when there is something happening in the universe, it's always bloody cloudy!

So, for at least the past week I've been on a Comet hunt, eagerly wanting to photograph comet C/2022 E3 (ZTF) - Yes they do have catchy names don't they?

Since I've been on the lookout for it, the weather hasn't been the best, yes we are in winter here in the UK, but was hoping for some of those clear frosty nights.

I shot this last night as I was hoping for a break in the clouds, no chance of that and it remained cloudy all night, well, at least until I went to bed.

I was lucky to get comet Neowise back in 2020, I just happened to look out the bathroom window and it was there, I had to precariously balance the camera on the top window and hold it as still as I could to get the shot, the comet was way too low to get it from the garden and tripod, so needs must. Far from the best shot of Neowise, but I'm happy with it, due to the conditions.

So anyhow, my luck for the current comet is out at the moment, time is precious as the full moon approaches, it the light from the moon will certainly stop me seeing the comet.

So I stand here with my fingers crossed, even for just half an hour of clear skies tonight to get the shot I want of the green comet....

Watch this space.

All the best :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center