About Last Night...

What felt like an eternity, we finally had a clear night and I had a new lens to test with my telescope.
After admiring the moon through my standard lens, I tried the now one, a 4mm lens, and it's brilliant for seeing all the intricate details of the moon, however there was one thing I wanted to try and that was to try my new process out in connecting my camera to the scope.


(A shot from the camera with a 2x Barlow lens attached)

I bought an adaptor to hook up my Sony A7iii to the telescope a while ago, but I was never pleased with the final images I was getting, I wasn't sure as to where I was going wrong.
The adaptor has a tube on it as well as the part that connects to the camera, so I thought I would try connecting the camera without the tube part on the telescope, low and behold, it works!!!

I was so pleased when I got everything working as I should, I know the images aren't sharp, but I'm not shooting through a £1000 lens, the telescope became the lens, so it's basically a tube with two mirrors, however, now I have sussed this out, I'm hoping to get some even better shots.

The images are single shot images from the camera, no layering or anything like that, I'm not sure if the images would become sharper even if I layered the as usually that is more for noise reduction (as far as I know at least).

Anyhow I really hope you like these pictures of the moon, please note that I also had the moon filter connected when I shot these images.

Thanks for reading,

All the best :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments