A visit to Hardwick Hall, aka Malfoy Manor

I was rather excited today as I'd planned a visit to Hardwick Hall in Derbyshire, what peaked my attention is that this was also in the Harry Potter films as Malfoy Manor, hence the name it's the home of the Malfoy family.

I'd just had a coffee in the coffee shop and while I was waiting for my girlfriend to finish, I said to here that I'd just get a shot that I'd wanted to take before we went in, but I didn't have my camera out.
I'd just timed it right, as I started to take the shot a rainbow appeared, snagged as many shots as I could before it went as quickly as it appeared.


(I can't see professor Snape).

This is the view I had in my mind from the Harry Potter films, they did add on to the house with CGI but you can still see the original house in there among the extended set.

Beautiful light this morning, between the rain, I did take my drone but when we got there it was really windy, certainly stronger that I would feel safe flying in.


Hardwick hall has some lovely gardens, and I don't know about you, but I do love a good orchard, still with apples on, I said to my girlfriend that I would love an orchard like whats there, but she just said "keep dreaming" lol.


(A five shot panorama).

I didn't take any shots of inside the building as it's kept fairly dark due to the amount of tapestries kept in the building, one of the guides told me that this building holds the most tapestries in the world. Inside the building is really impressive, some of the rooms are absolutely massive, I really do recommend anyone to visit this place if you are in the area.

Pictures shot using a Sony A7iii and a Canon 24-105mm F/4.0 L Lens.

I really hope you've enjoyed this blog, I will be going back but taking my wideangle f/2.8 lens for the inside shots, so keep an eye out for that.

Thanks for reading....

All the best :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center