A Day Of All Seasons...

stanedge_lflex_processed.jpg

I headed back over to Stanedge Edge yesterday, as the weather was beautiful, slightly cool but the sun was out. I thought I'd set off about 1ish as I wanted to get there, have a walk all way down the edge and hopefully get a sunset.

Due to the change in the weather, I didn't get to do what I wanted, but the sky looked apocalyptic, very very dramatic, with snow showers coming in from all directions.

untitled_5482_edit.jpg

I took the drone up, even though the winds were getting stronger, and managed a couple of shots, right before the first of the snow showers hit, I landed immediately, as not wanting to damage or even lose the drone in the weather.

untitled_0300.jpg

The snow then hit good and proper....

img_7303.jpg.jpg

The camera, lenses and drone went straight into my bag, looking at the snow, it didn't seem to want to end, so I decided to have a steady walk back to the car, halfway back it stopped snowing, albeit temporarily.

untitled_5549.jpg
Looking over Hope Valley, you could see all the showers coming over, I can't say how fantastic it looked, I just hope these pictures did it justice.

untitled_5511.jpg

untitled_5500_edit_2.jpg

I even had my bigma (well, Sigma) 150-600 lens with me this time, as I wanted to get a little bit of extra reach with the shots.

untitled_5583_edit.jpg
The above shot I call "Blot On The Lanscape", with the cement works at Hope, this shot quite a few locations to mention, to the right of the works we have Winnats Pass, cutting it's way through the gorge at Castleton, further to the right we have Mam Tor, the great ridge and in the distance (the large hill just poking over Mam Tor), that is Kinder Scout (if memory serves me correctly).

img_7305.jpg.jpg
One of the best things I've ever bought is this little camping stove, a Pocket Rocket 2, there's nothing beats a hot drink when you've been stuck in a snow storm, as you can see the snow did ease, although the sky became less dramatic, with showers in the distance.

So I never got the shot I wanted this time around, however, I never planned for these awesome skies, and I'm so glad that I went.

Off out again today, but this time, I think I'll just take the drone, not sure where I will end up, but probably will avoid the peak district for the next couple of weeks while the kids are on their easter holidays from school, as I imagine it will be packed out over there.

All shots done using the following equipment:
Sony A7iii with a Canon 24-104mm L Lens, Sigma 150-600mm Contemporary Lens.
DJI Mini 2 Drone
iPhone XR (Shit camera)

I really hope you've enjoyed this blog.

All the best,
Darren :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center