Orca with a Boner

I always dreamed of getting a full-body shot of a whale, but never did I envision such a literal realization.

DSC_1613.JPG

DSC_1616.JPG
When you and your family are trying to eat but the people on shore want a show.


Photos taken from the banks of San Juan Island, Washington, looking out on Haro Strait. The whales got no closer than about quarter mile, and from that distance no weiner would have been discernable with the naked eye. Most of my time was spent watching and not photographing, and there were only two incidents of breaches that I observed during the approximate hour that the pod was fishing in that area. This was one of them. As such, I consider these sexy orca poster boy pinups to be some of my luckiest shots to date.

Tools used: Nikon D7500 in bad need of a tune up, Sigma 600mm lens, sunburn, little dog, right place, right time.


CrowTube Channel
Crowstagram
NFT Crowroom
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community.
All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless I say it's ok.

DSC_1598.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center