Land Shanty

journeying through desert sea
with land as dry and parched as me
I chanced upon a shapely mound
and wondered what it was I'd found
DSC_0135.JPG
such craftsmanship to be admired
intricacies indeed inspired
geology and earthly art!
(though time had taken it apart)
DSC_0138.JPG
who had made this masterpiece?
and what exactly was this beast?
I pondered just how long it took
and went in for a closer look
DSC_0140.JPG
I sensed familiarity
in curves and lines that I could see
the shape was one I recognized
but here? I doubted my own eyes
DSC_0141.JPG
but there it was! the answer, clear
anchored to a sandstone pier
waiting eons to embark
a fine and stately ancient ark
DSC_0142.JPG
I searched for life inside the hold
too old for bones, to dry for mold
its history long-since dissolved
its failures long-since absolved
DSC_0143.JPG
I think that when my time arrives
I will come back, and climb inside
as ash and dust and desert sand
and sail into the promised land
DSC_0144.JPG


Photos taken with Nikon D7500 and edited in Lightroom. Ark discovered in a secret spot in San Rafael Swell Recreation Area in Utah.


CrowTube Channel
Crowstagram
NFT Crowroom
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community. 10% goes to support @torem-di-torem and her animal shelter in Ukraine.
All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless I say it's ok.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now